Featured Stories

World Cup Fandango!

The dance of the leaders’ positions has started as we enter another season of World Cup mountain biking! This year’s series opener gave rise to an upset win in the men’s race by Bart Brentjens (Giant Global, NED), an elite rider who hasn’t won a World Cup since 1996.

Canada’s Roland Green (Trek/Volkswagen) trailed in, more than two minutes behind, in second. Roel
Paulisson (Lanabau/RW) of Belgium rounded out the top three. Canadian
Seamus McGrath (Haro/Lee Dungarees) had one of his best season-opener
results, crossing the line in 13th place, while Canada’s Ryder Hesjedal
(Subaru/Gary Fisher) finished in 29th position.

In the women’s race, Marga Fullana (Orbea) of Spain (who only
competed in half of last year’s World Cup events, won three, and placed
second in the fourth) led the entire race and took the gold home, to the
extreme pleasure of the Spanish crowd. Reigning World champion Alison
Dunlap (Luna) rolled into second place, with Germany’s Sabine Spitz
(Merida) in third. Canada’s Alison Sydor (Trek/Volkswagen) started her 2002
World Cup season on the right foot (er, pedal stroke), when she rounded out
the top five, just less than two minutes behind the leader. Sydor’s
National teammate Chrissy Redden (Subaru/Gary Fisher) finished in 19th

For the past five years, the UCI-Tissot World Cup has taken place in
California’s Napa Valley. This year’s event was in Madrid, Spain, where
temperatures were hot and spectators numbered approximately 25,000. The
gently rolling course offered a lot of technical challenges for the riders,
but, overall, it was a great location to start off the UCI-Tissot World Cup
Mountain Bike Series. Next, the riders are off to Houffalize, Belgium
(where Roland Green won his first-ever World Cup event!).

Tissot/UCI MTB World Cup #1
May 18, 19, 2002 – Madrid, Spain
Women’s Event: 1. Margo Fullana (Orbea, ESP) 2:00:31; 2. Alison Dunlap
(Luna, USA) :39; 3. Sabine Spitz (Merida, GER) :47. Canadians: 5. Alison
Sydor (Trek-Volkswagen) 1:42; 19. Chrissy Redden (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 8:29;
29. Marie-Helene Premont (Oryx-Procycle) 11:54; 39. Kiara Bisaro (Gears
Racing) 14:22; 45. Trish Sinclair (Gears Racing) 18:25.

Men’s Event: 1. Bart Brentjens (Giant Global, NED) 2:02:37; 2. Roland Green
(Trek/Volkswagen, CAN) 2:10; 3. Roel Paulissen (Lanabau/RW, BEL) 2:23; 4.
Jose Antonio Hermida (Moterex/Bianchi, ESP) 3:01; 5. Lado Fumic
(Team-T-Mobile) 3:50. Other Canadians: 13. Seamus McGrath (Haro/Lee
Dungarees) 5:26; 28. Chris Sheppard (Haro/Lee Dungarees) 7:58; 29. Ryder
Hesjedal (Subaru/Gary Fisher) 8:16.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.