Featured Stories

Watch the 1993 Women’s Gastown GP and Tour de White Rock

release by the Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix

June 19, 2012 (Vancouver, BC) – Since 1973, only one rider has ridden the Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix wearing the rainbow stripes as a past World Road Champion. That rider was Sweden’s Marianne Berglund, who won the world title in 1983 and was riding her first Gastown in 1993.

Commenting on the damp conditions, Marianne said, “I was happy it dried up before the race because it’s a very technical course. It’s the kind of course where you have to be very observant. You have to be very quick and you have to make sure you know what’s going on.”  She clearly knew what was going on as she took the victory against the powerhouse Team Kahlua foursome of Sara Neil, Clara Hughes, Lesley Tomlinson and Sue Palmer.

She also won the Tour de White Rock the day before. Watch both races on our YouTube channel as Global Relay proudly presents the 1993 Women’s Gastown Grand Prix and the Tour de White Rock.

Watch the video HERE.

Coming Soon – The 1991 Gastown Grand Prix won by Lance Armstrong. His first pro win in North America.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.