Featured Stories

Vuelta Ciclista a Cuba – Stages 3 and 4 Report – Gilbert and Lacombe 1-2

by pedalmag.com

February 13, 2009 (Holgin, Cuba) – Canada was back on top with Team Planet Energy’s Martin Gilbert and Keven Lacombe scoring 1-2 on Friday at Stage 4 from Bayamo to Holgin, 83 km. This follows Thursday’s 196km Stage 3 from Santiago De Cuba to Manzanillo won by Yuniel Alonso (Cub) Habana where Ryan Roth (Can) Team Planet Energy was 12th and Francois Parisien was 15th.

Here’s a brief report from today’s Stage 4 race from Planet Energy Team Director, Steve Bauer…

Martin Gilbert wins the bunch sprint with Keven Lacombe in second – top two on the stage. We are no longer leading the GC but we await the time trial on Stage 8 with Ryan Roth, Francois Parisien and Andrew Randell all in top positions, all within seconds of the current leader. Lacombe leads wearing the red Points jersey… 9 days 11 stages to go.


Stage 3

1. Yuniel Alonso (Cub) Habana 4:25:21
2. Osviel Vento (Cub) Habana
3. Vicente Sanabria (Cub) Matanzas 9:07
4. Geert Dijkshooyn (Ned) Saxonia Team
5. Arnold Alcolea (Cub) Team Cuba

12. Ryan Roth (Can) Team Planet Energy
15. Francois Parisien (Can) Team Planet Energy

Stage 4

1. Martin Gilbert (Can) Planet Energy 2:02:20
2. Keven Lacombe (Can) Planet Energy
3. Noslen Funes (Cub) C.T. Cienfuegos
4. Rainier Vazquerz (Cub) Matanzas
5. Alien Garcia (Cub) Ciego De Avila
6. Fernando Kayner (Pan) Villa Clara
7. Yuniel Alonso (Cub) Habana
8. Yasmani Martinez (Cub) Sel. Cuba
9. Marlon Proenza (Cub) Holguin
10. Jorge J. Rojas (Cub) Sancti Spiritus
23. Andrew Randell (Can) Planet Energy
31. Ryan Roth (Can) Planet Energy
40. Francois Parisien (Can) Planet Energy
52. Bruno Langlois (Can) Planet Energy

Points Jersey

1. Keven Lacombe (Can) Planet Energy 27 pts
2. Arnold Alcolea (Cub) Team Cuba 26
3. Alien Garcia (Cub) Ciego de Avila 26
4. Yuniel Alonso (Cub) Habana 20
5. Yasmani Martinez (Cub) Team Cuba 19
6. Reldys Perez (Cub) 15
7. Martin Gilbert (Can) Planet Energy 15
23. Ryan Roth (Can) Planet Energy 2

GC after Stage 4

1. Arnold Alcolea (Cub) Team Cuba 12:45:53
2. Alien Garcia (Cub) Ciego de Avila
3. Yasmani Martinez (Cub) Team Cuba, 0:02
4. Lizardo Benitez (Cub) Team Cuba 0:06
5. Jesus Zarate (Mex) Tecos Trek
6. Raul Granjel (Cub) Team Cuba
7. Adonis Cardoso (Cub) I.S.C.F. 0:07
8. Ryan Roth (Can) Planet Energy 0:08
10. Francois Parisien (Can) Planet Energy 0:09
17. Andrew Randell (Can) Planet Energy 0:17
38. Keven Lacombe (Can) Planet Energy 4:41
51. Martin Gilbert (Can) Planet Energy 8:27
75. Bruno Langlois (Can) Planet Energy 17.33

1. Cuba 38:17:33
2. Planet-Energy 0:30
3. Tecos-Trek

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.