Featured Stories

Vancouver SuperPrestige CX Series #7 – Pendrel, Schooler Score

by pedalmag.com

November 25, 2013 (Abbotford, BC) – Catharine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team) and Aaron Schooler (H&R Block) grabbed top honours in Abbotsford, BC on Saturday at the Vancouver SuperPrestige CX Series final at Aldergrove Lake Park, decisively powering away from their competition in the women’s and men’s races, respectively.

In the women’s race, Pendrel, defending Canadian Champion Mical Dyck (Stan’s No Tubes), and Sandra Walter (Liv/giant Canada) immediately separated themselves from the rest of the field and rode together for the first two laps of eight. Pendrel attacked just after the finish line on lap three with Walter in tow, but Dyck did not make the separation. Eventually, Pendrel would ride away from Walter on a challenging grassy climb to take the victory by a minute. Walter finished second with Dyck third.

The men’s race saw Schooler unmatched as he rode in a league of his own off the front for most of the race. Series leader Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain) won the intense battle for second, besting main rival Kevin Noiles (Rock Lobster Factory Team) for the second podium spot. Honourable mention goes to master racer Bob Welbourn (Cannondale), who placed a strong fourth in the Elite Men’s race. With the Canadian Championships only a week away, racer turnout was large on the chilly and sunny Saturday, as riders used the event as a final brush-up before the biggest weekend in Canadian Cyclocross, which takes place in South Surrey, BC, Nov. 30-Dec. 1.

Open Women
1. Catharine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team)
2. Sandra Walter (Liv/giant Canada)
3. Mical Dyck (Stan’s No Tubes)
4. Kelly Jones (Steed Cycles)
5. Morgan Cabot (Glotman Simpson)
6. Denise Ramsden (Optum Pro Cycling)

Elite Men
1. Aaron Schooler (H&R Block)
2. Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain)
3. Kevin Noiles (Rock Lobster Factory Team)
4. Bob Welbourn (Cannondale)

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.