Featured Stories

USGP of Cyclocross Derby City Cup Day 2 – Kabush 3rd, Dyck 10th

by pedalmag.com

November 13, 2011 (Louisville, Kentucky) – Katie Compton stormed away to victory at Day Two of the Derby City Cup presented by Papa John’s. Behind her thrilling action unfolded as Katerina Nash, Kaitlin Antonneau and Meredith Miller gave valiant and determined chase.  French National Champion Caroline Mani, suffering the ill effects of her crash the previous day, was forced to withdraw from what was her last race in the US.  As Compton pulled away from the field Nash, Miller and Antonneau battled for the final podium spots.  As Miller faded back Nash and Antonneau came to the line in a flat out sprint with Antonneau grabbing the second spot.  Meredith Miller won the Avid Shorty Ultimate Hole Shot snapping Nicole Duke’s grip on the contest. Nash retains her grasp on the Exergy USGP of Cyclocross p/b Greenware Series lead.

The Men’s race suffered a shake up before the rider’s even took to the line when USGP Series leader Ryan Trebon crashed in a warm up lap and injured his knee.  With Trebon struggling but fighting for maximum series points, Todd Wells and Jeremy Powers surged away from the field leaving Geoff Kabush between the leaders and the chase of Ben Berden, Tim Johnson and Chris Jones to chase. Wells and Powers traded blows until the last lap when Powers opened up a slight lead coming into the finishing straight. Powers sat up not realizing how fast Wells was closing and nearly got caught on the line.  With his victory today, Powers took over the series lead and now wears the Seried Leader’s Jersey heading into the final weekend of racing in Bend.   Ben Berden repeated as the Avid Shorty Ultimate Hole Shot Winner.

The Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross presented by Greenware® resumes on December 10th and 11th in Bend with the Deschutes Brewery Cup when racing returns to Bend, OR for the final weekend of USGP action.

Results (brief)

Elite Women

1. Katie Compton (RaboBank/Giant)
2. Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld.com)
3. Katerina Nash (LUNA)
4. Meredith Miller (Cal Giant Cycling)
5. Nicole Duke (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld.com)
6. Chloe Forsman (Crankbrothers Race Club 11)
7. Laura Van Guilder (C3 pb Mellow Mushroom)
8. Sue Butler (RiverCity / Ridley)
9. Teal Stetson-Lee (Cal Giant Cycling)
10. Mical Dyck (Pro City Racing)

AVID Shorty Ultimate Holeshot:  Meredith Miller

Elite Men

1. Jeremy Powers (Rapha/Focus)
2. Todd Wells (Specialized)
3. Geoff Kabush ( Team Maxxis / Rocky Mountain)
4. Ben Berden (Ops Ale – Stoemper)
5. Chris Jones (Rapha/FOCUS)
6. Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld.com)
7. Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld.com)
8. Brian Matter (GearGrinder)
9. Tristan Schouten (Cyclocrossracing.com p/b Blue B)
10.  Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt)

AVID Shorty Ultimate Holeshot:  Ben Berden

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.