Featured Stories

USA Crits Speed Week Spartanburg Downtown Criterium – Pinfold 3rd, Trew 8th

report by UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team

May 1, 2010 (Spartanburg, South Carolina) – The UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team Presented by Maxxis had been knocking on the door all week at the USA Crits Speed Week after Karl Menzies opened the series with the win in Athens last Saturday.

The team followed that win with Andrew Pinfold’s 2nd place in Roswell Sunday, then Pinfold’s 3rd place at the Beaufort Memorial Criterium Tuesday, and Menzies 2nd at Walterboro Wednesday.

Always close to the podium was Jake Keough, and today, the young sprinter finally broke through, taking the win in Spartanburg, with Pinfold posting 3rd place, and Menzies just off the podium in 4th.

“After being so close the last few races, this win was sweet,” Keough said. “We’re racing consistently well, and it’s good to finally get back on the top step.”

Keough noted that the race was aggressive from the start, with attacks going practically from the gun. “I got in a few moves early and all the guys were covering,” he said.

But it was a late move by Jonny Clarke of UnitedHealthcare Presented by Maxxis that truly set up the win. The Australian attacked solo with eight laps to go and put the pressure on the OUCH-Bahati team of Speed Week series leader Hilton Clarke. More importantly, it also gave Keough, Pinfold and Menzies a free ride going into the final laps.

Clarke held the chase at bay for five laps before finally getting caught with three laps to go. With one to go, UnitedHealthcare Presented by Maxxis assumed control of the front of the race, with Keough lined up behind Pinfold and Menzies.

“Coming into the final turns, Hilton was able to slip between me and Pinner,” Keough said. “I came off of Hilton’s wheel in the sprint and was able to get around him at the line.”


UnitedHealthcare Presented by Maxxis’ came into Spartanburg with a solid 399 point lead over Team Type 1 in the overall team competition at Speed Week. Posting three of the top four places today should extend that lead and put the team in position to win the overall competition. The win by Keough has all but cemented his grip on the U25 individual competition.

Two races remain in the series: Saturday’s Dillworth Criterium in Charlotte, N.C., and Sunday’s Sunny King Criterium back in the Atlanta area.


Elite Men

1. Jacob Keough (UnitedHealthcare) 1:16:10
2. Hilton Clarke (Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling)
3. Andrew Pinfold (UnitedHealthcare)
4. Karl Menzies (UnitedHealthcare) 0:01
5. Luca Damiani (Kenda)
6. Alexey Schmidt (Team Type 1)
7. Adam Myerson (Team Mountain Khakis)
8. Luis Zayas 0:02
9. Emile Abraham (Aerocat Racing)
10. Daniel Holt (Team Type 1)
11. Olaf Kerkhof (Team Type 1)
12. Chris Schmidt (Haymarket Bicycles/HomeVisit) 0:03
13. Ty Magner (Locos Grill & Pub)
14. Jonathan Parrish (Kenda)
15. Isaac Howe (Team Mountain Khakis)
16. Andrew Crater (Aerocat Racing)
17. Tim Henry (Team Type 1 Devo)
18. John Grant (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team) 0:04
19. David Guttenplan (Team Mountain Khakis)
20. Philip Martz (Team Globalbike)
21. Robert Bush (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team)
22. Juan Gaspari (ZMOTION Racing Team) 0:05
23. Neil Bezdek (Team Mountain Khakis) 0:06
24. Victor Herrera (ZMOTION Racing Team)
25. Thomas Brown (Team Mountain Khakis)
26. Jared Nieters (Haymarket Bicycles/HomeVisit)
27. David Forkner (Team Globalbike)
28. Daniel Ramsey (Williams Cycling pb SC Velo) 0:07
29. Sebastian Flaskamp (Droessiger)
30. Diego Garavito (Aerocat Racing)
31. Gavriel Epstein (CRCA/FOUNDATION)
32. Oneil Samuels (Team Ion-United Healthcare 19831203) 0:08
33. Frank Travieso (Jamis Sutter Home p/b Colavita)
34. Benjamin Miller (Team Globalbike)
35. Ronald Strange (Team Hotel San Jose/Mellow Johnny’s)
36. Karel Sumbal (Lindner Capital Advisors)
37. Matthew Spohn (Richmond Pro Cycling) 0:09
38. Kevin Attkisson (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team)
39. Daniel Zmolik (AXA Equitable Cycling Team)
40. Logan Hutchings (Team Hotel San Jose/Mellow Johnny’s)
41. Lewis Almonte (CRCA/FOUNDATION)
42. Boyd Johnson (Team Globalbike) 0:10
43. Sean Sullivan (Team Hotel San Jose/Mellow Johnny’s)
44. Stefan Rothe (Team Hotel San Jose/Mellow Johnny’s)
45. Alejandro Guzman (CRCA/FOUNDATION) 0:11
46. Andrew Baker (Team Ion-United Healthcare) 0:12
47. Scottie Weiss (KENDA)
48. Nat Bricker (Chain Reaction)
49. Joe Whitman (AXA Equitable Cycling Team / C)
50. Matthew Howe (HTR Inside Out Sports) 0:13
51. Benjamin Smith (Locos Grill & Pub)
52. John Loehner (AXA Equitable Cycling Team)
53. Gustavo Rullo
54. Juan Pablo Dotti (Aerocat Racing) 0:14
55. Carlos Vargas (Team Hotel San Jose/Mellow Johnny’s)
56. Emilio Asconeguy (Aerocat Racing)
57. Luis Sanchez (MEN Asheville bicycle racing club) 0:15
58. Andrew Gonzales (Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team) 0:16
59. Adrian Hegyvary (UnitedHealthcare) 0:18
60. Ryan Simpson (Haymarket Bicycles/HomeVisit) 0:21
61. Tyler Jewell (Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team) 0:22
62. Eric Murphy (Team Ion-United Healthcare) 0:23
63. Hector Pastorini
64. Martijn Verschoor (Team Type 1) 0:25
65. Michael Midlarsky 0:26
66. J Gabriel Lloyd (MetLife p/b groSolar)
67. Andrew Erskine (ACE p/b Highland)
68. Hunter Garrison (Barley’s Taproom Greenville) 0:27
69. Rob Giannini (Locos)
70. Daniel Harm (Doppio Cycling) 0:28
71. Rich Harper (Kenda)
72. Gonzalo Escobar (Haymarket Bicycles/HomeVisit)
73. Calixto Bello (ZMOTION Racing Team)
74. Benjamin Zawacki (Team Ion-United Healthcare) 0:29
75. Jonathan Clarke (UnitedHealthcare) 0:30
76. Mark Warno (Syn-Fit Race Team 601) 0:32
77. Joe Eldridge (Team Type 1) 0:34
78. Oscar Clark (Team Mountain Khakis fueled b) 0:37
79. Yosvany Falcon (Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling) 0:40
80. Heath Blackgrove (Team Hotel San Jose/Mellow Jo NZL 19801205) 0:42
81. Geoff Godsey (Kenda) 1:00
82. Rob White (Kenda)
83. Phillip Mann (Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling) 1:03
84. Bobby Lea (Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling) 1:14
85. Matthew Crane (UnitedHealthcare) 1:21

Elite Women

1. Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) 1:02:14
2. Laura Van Gilder (Mellow mushroom)
3. Erica Allar (Team Vera Bradley Foundation) 0:01
4. Liza Rachetto (TREADS.com/DFT)
5. Tiffany Pezzulo (TREADS.com/DFT)
6. Kori Seehafer (Team Type 1)
7. Anna Lang (Vanderkitten Racing) 0:02
8. Jenny Trew (BMW-Bianchi)
9. Kacey Manderfield (Cycle Loft)
10. Samantha Schneider (TEAM Tibco)
11. Erin Silliman Fruit (66/Artemis)
12. Carrie Cash-Wootte (Team Vera Bradley Foundation)
13. Elizabeth Morse Hill (Zmotion)
14. Shontell Gauthier (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling)
15. Cinthia Lehner (Raleigh Allstars)
16. Starla Teddergreen (Vanderkitten Racing)
17. Sarah Caravella (BMW-Bianchi)
18. Linsey Bradshaw-Sa (TREADS.com/DFT)
19. Chris Roettger (Mesa Cycles Racing) 0:03
20. Christy Blakely (BMW-Bianchi)
21. Amanda Watson (Fruit 66/Artemis) 0:04
22. Lenore Pipes (Fruit 66/Artemis)
23. Kate Veronneau (Kutztown Cutters)
24. Keely Brooks (Colavita/Outback Steakhouse LA) 0:06
25. Valeria Galeano
26. Marianne Holt (Subaru-Gary Fisher Elite Road)
27. Janel Bedard (MVP Health Care Elite Cycling)
28. Jennifer Wilson (Vanderkitten Racing) 0:07
29. Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling)
30. Jacquelyn Crowell (Team Type 1)
31. Frances Schofield (Zmotion) 0:12
32. Kate Ross (BMW-Bianchi) 0:17
33. Jennifer Reither (Vanderkitten Racing) 0:22
34. (Team Kenda) 0:26
35. Kate Bates (Colavita/Baci)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.