Featured Stories

US Team Named for Track World Championships

March 23, 2006) — USA Cycling has announced the team that will represent the United States at the upcoming 2006 Union Cycliste Internationale Track Cycling World Championships April 13-16 in Bordeaux, France.

The United States has qualified for 14 start positions in this year’s World Championships. Performances at the four World Cup events throughout the 2005- 2006 season determined the number of slots allotted to each country.

Riders for this year’s team were selected from the final USA Cycling track talent pool comprised of riders who’ve qualified at the 2005 Elite Track National Championships, met a time standard at qualification events in Los Angeles, or by coaches’ selection.

The U.S. team is led by five members of the 2005 World Championship team (Giddeon Massie, Christian Stahl, Bobby Lea, Jennie Reed and Becky Quinn) and should fare well with the notable additions of UCI World Cup standings runner-up Sarah Hammer (Southbay Wheelmen / Temecula, Calif.) and Pan American time trial champion Kristin Armstrong (TEAm Lipton / Boise, Idaho) on the women’s side.

Hammer has been the U.S. team’s top performer with four medals (three gold, one silver) in endurance events on the World Cup circuit this season. Hammer took last season off from racing.

Veterans Quinn (SPiKE / Quakertown, Pa.) and Reed (SPiKE / Kirkland, Wash.) have also produced strong performances this year.

Quinn took two silver medals in the World Cup in Los Angeles, Calif. – One in the points race and one in the scratch race. Reed also picked up two silver medals, but in the sprint and keirin at the World Cup in Sydney, Australia.

The men’s side includes nine riders making their Track Cycling World Championships debut, including L.A. World Cup bronze medalist Michael Blatchford (SPiKE / Cypress, Calif.) and recent Tour de Normandie stage winner Brad Huff (TIAA-CREF / Fair Grove, Mo.).

For more information about the UCI Track Cycling World Championships, visit www.uci.ch.

U.S. Team

Men’s Sprint
Stephen Alfred (SPiKE / Capitola, Calif.)
Ben Barczewski (SPiKE / Breinigsville, Pa.)
Michael Blatchford (SPiKE / Cypress, Calif.)
Giddeon Massie (SPiKE / Lansdale, Pa.)
Christian Stahl (CKR Racing / Bethany, Conn.)

Men’s Endurance
Michael Friedman (TIAA-CREF / Boulder, Colo.)
Bobby Lea (Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team / Mertztown, Pa.)
Brad Huff (TIAA-CREF / Fair Grove, Mo.)
Chad Hartley (TIAA-CREF / Willowbrook, Ill.)
Danny Pate (TIAA-CREF / Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Michael Creed (TIAA-CREF / Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Taylor Tolleson (TIAA-CREF / Boulder, Colo.)
Women’s Sprint
Jennie Reed (SPiKE / Kirkland, Wash.)
Women’s Endurance
Sarah Hammer (Southbay Wheelmen / Temecula, Calif.)
Becky Quinn (SPiKE / Quakertown, Pa.)
Kristin Armstrong (TEAm Lipton / Boise, Idaho)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.