Featured Stories

US Names Road Worlds Team

September 17, 2005 – USA Cycling announced today the riders that will represent the United States at the 2005 UCI Road World Championships in Madrid, Spain September 21-25.

A total of 21 riders in three categories – elite and U23 men and elite women – will compete for the title of world champion in road race and time trial events.

Headlining the list of elite men is 2004 Olympic time trial bronze medalist Bobby Julich (Glenwood Springs, Colo.) who will be gunning for a rainbow jersey in the elite men’s time trial on September 22. One of the top time trial riders in the world, Julich captured major time trial wins this season at the Tour of Benelux and Criterium International and placed fourth in the 55 kilometer time trial at the Tour de France.

Joining Julich on the elite men’s squad are UCI ProTour riders Christian VandeVelde (Boulder, Colo.), Fred Rodriguez (Emeryville, Calif.), Jason McCartney (Coralville, Iowa), Patrick McCarty (Allen, Texas), Saul Raisin (Dalton, Ga.), and Guido Trenti (Natick, Mass.) while domestic-based pros Phil Zajicek (Tucson, Ariz.) and John Lieswyn (Ames, Iowa) round out the nine-man contingent.

Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash.) leads the five-man U23 team. The recent winner of the USPRO Criterium Championships and a stage of the Tour de l’Avenir, Farrar will look to excel on a relatively flat course tailor made for a sprint specialist.

Joining Farrar on the U23 list is national time trial champion Steven Cozza (Petaluma, Calif.), John Devine (Colorado Springs, Colo.), John Murphy (Marietta, Ga.) and Michael Wolf (Decatur, Ga.).

The six-member women’s team consists of current U.S. and Pan American time trial champion Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho) and national road race champion Kathryn Curi (Danville, Calif.).

European-based pro Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif.), Kori Seehafer (Louisville, Colo.) and Christine Thorburn (Menlo Park, Calif.) are also on the squad as are sprinters Laura Van Gilder (Pocono Pines, Pa.) and four-time elite national criterium champion Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.).

Several of the riders who originally received automatic nominations declined to participate.

2005 UCI Road World Championships

Madrid, Spain
Sept. 21-25

U.S. National Team Roster

Elite Men
-Bobby Julich (Glenwood Springs, Colo.)
-John Lieswyn (Ames, Iowa)
-Jason McCartney (Coralville, Iowa)
-Patrick McCarty (Allen, Texas)
-Saul Raisin (Dalton, Ga.)
-Fred Rodriguez (Emeryville, Calif.)
-Guido Trenti (Natick, Mass.)
-Christian VandeVelde (Boulder, Colo.)
-Phil Zajicek (Tucson, Ariz.)

U23 Men

-Steven Cozza (Petaluma, Calif.)
-John Devine (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
-Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash.)
-John Murphy (Marietta, Ga.)
-Michael Wolf (Decatur, Ga.)

Elite Women

-Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho)
-Christine Thorburn (Menlo Park, Calif.)
-Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif.)
-Kathryn Curi (Danville, Calif.)
-Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.)
-Laura Van Gilder (Pocono Pines, Pa.)
-Kori Seehafer (Louisville, Colo.)

About USA Cycling
Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 50,000 members and 2,000 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men’s road). For more information visit www.usacycling.org or contact, USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.