Featured Stories

UCI Track World Cup in Minsk Day 1 Results, PHOTOS – Canadian Women’s Team Pursuit Qualify 3rd and Set Personal Best Time

by pedalmag.com
Canadian Women’s Team Pursuit  ©  Guy Swarbrick
January 19, 2018 (Minsk, Belarus) – Team Canada’s Erin Attwell, Maggie Coles-Lyster, Devaney Collier and Laurie Jussaume set a personal best time to place 3rd in the Women’s Team Pursuit 4,000m Qualifications today at Round 5 of the UCI Track World Cup in Minsk, Belarus. The United States topped the field with Italy second. Canada will battle Italy in the First Round.

Canadian Women’s Team Pursuit  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Canadian Women’s Team Pursuit  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Reigning Junior Worlds champ, Maggie Coles-Lyster, was the lone Canuck in the Women’s Points Race but did not finish as Kirsten Wild (Netherlands) won over Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Italy) with Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Norway) in third.

Maggie Coles-Lyster  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Maggie Coles-Lyster  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Maggie Coles-Lyster  ©  Guy Swarbrick

Women’s Team Pursuit Qualifications

1. United States 4:17.182
Jennifer Valente
Kelly Catlin
Chloe Dygert
Kimberly Geist

2. Italy 4:24.240
Letizia Paternoster
Elisa Balsamo
Marta Cavalli
Simona Frapporti

3. Canada 4:31.761
Devaney Collier
Maggie Coles-Lyster
Erin J Atwell
Laurie Jussaume

Full results here.

Qualification Rule:
The eight teams recording the best times in the qualifying round will be matched in the First round as follows:
The 6th fastest team against the 7th fastest team.
The 5th fastest team against the 8th fastest team.
The 2nd fastest team against the 3rd fastest team.
The fastest team against the 4th fastest team.
The winners of heats 3 and 4 in the First round ride the final for the gold and silver medals.
The remaining six teams will be ranked by their times in the First round and will be paired as follows:
The two fastest teams ride the final for the bronze medal

Women’s Points Race
1. Kirsten Wild (Netherlands) 45 pts
2. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Italy) 33
3. Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Norway) 28
4. Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mexico) 21
5. Verena Eberhardt (Austria) 14, lapped
6. Ina Savenka (Belarus) 10, lapped
7. Jarmila Machacova (Czech Republic) 9, lapped
8. Maria Novolodskaya (Russia) 6, lapped
9. Youri Kim (Korea) 4, lapped
10. Christina Birch (United States) 3, lapped
11. Leire Olaberria Dorronsoro (Gipuzkoa-OGI Berri) 2, lapped
12. Andrea Waldis (Switzerland) 1, lapped
13. Romy Kasper (Germany) 0, lapped
14. Eukene Larrarte Arteaga (Spain) 0, lapped
15. Alzbeta Bacikova (Slovakia) 0, lapped
DNF Maggie Coles-Lyster (Canada)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.