Featured Stories

UCI ProTour Council Report From Geneva

February 4, 2008 РThe UCI ProTour Council (UPTC) met today in Geneva, Switzerland. The Council welcomed four new members: C̩dric Vasseur (France), recently elected as President of the CPA (Association of Professional Cyclists); Dario David Cioni (Italy), a rider on the Silence-Lotto team; Eric Boyer (France), President of AIGCP (International Association of Professional Cycling Teams), and Manager of the Cofidis le Cr̩dit par T̩l̩phone team; and Henri Van Der Aat (the Netherlands), General Manager of the Rabobank team.

Mr. Vasseur and Mr. Cioni are the new riders’ representatives while Mr. Boyer and Mr. Van Der Aat are the new team representatives on the Council.

The UPTC noted with satisfaction the continuing pursuit of the development of the UCI ProTour outside Europe: discussions with China and Russia are progressing with the aim of including events from these countries in the series.

The UPTC is also delighted with the success of the first event of the 2008 UCI ProTour, the Tour Down Under, which was held in Australia from 22-27 January.

All UPTC members, representing all the groups concerned (riders, teams and organisers), restated the importance that they attach to the biological passport system, introduced at the beginning of 2008.

There was also approval of Wild Card status, which ensures that all UCI Professional Continental Teams that may be invited to UCI ProTour races meet the same sporting, ethical, legal and financial requirements that apply to UCI ProTeams. Riders from teams with this status will be required to have biological passports.

The Council then approved the change of nationality of the High Road team. This team will now be domiciled in the United States rather than Germany.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.