Featured Stories

UCI ProTour – 17 Teams Registered by the UCI

release by the UCI

Novemer 25, 2009 – The UCI ProTour Council (UPTC) has ruled on the registration applications submitted by UCI ProTeams and candidates for ProTour licences. Teams are required to submit a registration application to the International Cycling Union (UCI) on an annual basis.

This procedure, which is assessed by external consultants, allows the UCI to check that all teams meet the requirements established by the regulations, particularly administrative and financial.

The teams were informed that the deadline for submitting registrations this year was 20 November. After an examination of the applications received, the UPTC has registered the following 17 teams:

– AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)
– Astana (KAZ)
– Caisse d’Epargne (ESP)
– Euskaltel-Euskadi (ESP)
– Footon-Servetto (ESP)
– Française des Jeux (FRA)
– Garmin-Slipstream (USA)
– Liquigas-Doimo (ITA)
– Omega Pharma-Lotto (BEL)
– Quick Step (BEL)
– Rabobank (NED)
– Saxo Bank (DEN)
– Team Columbia-HTC (USA)
– Team Katusha (RUS)
– Team Milram (GER)
– Team RadioShack (USA)
– Team Sky (GBR)

The UCI ProTour Council however decided to refuse the registration of the Italian team Lampre Farnese Vini. It has referred the matter to the Licence Commission which will make a decision on whether or not to withdraw the UCI ProTour licence held by that team.

All the registered teams already have a UCI ProTour licence that is valid for the coming season or beyond:

Team Licence expiry
– Astana (KAZ) 2010
– Caisse d’Epargne (ESP) 2010
– Euskaltel-Euskadi (ESP) 2010
– Footon-Servetto (ESP) 2010
– Française des Jeux (FRA) 2010
– Liquigas-Doimo (ITA) 2010
– Team Columbia-HTC (USA) 2010
– Team Milram (GER) 2010
– Omega Pharma-Lotto (BEL) 2011
– Quick Step (BEL) 2011
– Saxo Bank (DEN) 2011
– Team Katusha (RUS) 2011
– AG2R La Mondiale (FRA) 2012
– Garmin-Slipstream (USA) 2012
– Rabobank (NED) 2012
– Team RadioShack (USA) 2013
– Team Sky (GBR) 2013

The UCI ProTour licence and the registration of UCI ProTeams are two different things. To be part of the UCI ProTour, a team must obtain a licence (valid for 1-4 years) the award of which is based, in particular, on sporting, ethical and financial criteria, taking into account the team’s history and guarantees provided for the future. The licence implies the right and obligation to participate in all UCI ProTour events. As for registration, this is , as indicated above, an annual procedure to check that teams have the team and budget in place to carry out their activities during the coming season.

With regard to the Astana team, the UCI wishes to state that in response to the difficulties that this team had paying its riders’s alaries last season, the UPTC President, Mr Vittorio Adorni, last May requested the Licence Commission to withdraw the licence held by the Kazakh team.

The subsequent intervention of team executives allowed a solution to the problem to be implemented for the year 2009. The request for withdrawal presented by the UPTC President was then suspended. Looking forward to the 2010 season, the UCI requested the Kazakh team to provide an additional bank guarantee so that the regrettable situation in 2009 would not be repeated and so that the request for the withdrawal of the Astana licence would not have to be reactivated.

This request is not connected in any way to the registration procedure for UCI ProTeams mentioned above but to the request for the withdrawal of the Astana licence that would have to be reactivated if the bank guarantee is not provided.

The UCI awaits this bank guarantee and is confident it will be provided soon.

UCI Press Service

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.