Featured Stories

UCI Paracycling Road Worlds Day 3 Report, Results, Photos

report by the CCA

August 21, 2010 (Baie-Comeau, QC) – It was a good day on the road for the Canadian para-cyclists taking part in the 2010 UCI Para-Cycling World Championships in Baie-Comeau, QC, as two Canadians reached the podium on Saturday in the first set of road races. In doing so, Marie-Claude Molnar and Mark Ledo won Canada’s fourth and fifth medals of the biggest Para-cycling event of the UCI calendar.

Marie-Claude Molnar (Montréal, QC) placed second for the silver in the Women’s C4 category, while earlier in the day Mark Ledo (Maple, ON) placed third, winning the bronze medal in H3 category.

Four months ago, Mark Ledo (Maple, ON) had never touched a race bike. On Saturday, he stepped on the third step of the podium at the 2010 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships.

Ledo started cycling just four months ago in April 2010, competing this season for the first time on a race bike. Today, Ledo completed the 4-lap, 46.5 kilometre race with a time of 1h 27m 38s in the final sprint to the finish line for the bronze medal. “I am super happy. To be honest, it was kind of expected, especially for this course, this land. There are lots of climbs and hills, and this is my forte, where I really excel versus the other guys.”

At his first ever race at the Défi Sportif in Montréal, QC, Ledo raced to victory and met the Canadian Para-Cycling team time standards. With the help of private and National team coaches, Ledo trained hard at different training camps, and begun competing internationally.

“My primary coach, Peter Lawless from Victoria, and Éric VanDen Eynde and Sébastien Travers from the National team did a lot of work in Bromont, where I did a few training camps. They really took me to the next level and I owe it all to these three coaches. Julie Hutsebaut, the team manager, did a lot for us as well.”

Ledo, a convert from the Athletics, competed at the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games in both the 5000m and the marathon, finishing respectively 28th and 37th. “I’ve done Athletics for eight years, and the transition was super easy from wheelchair racing to cycling. The progression on the bike came really natural. I do work hard every time I train.”

The 33-year old born in Toronto, ON now living in Maple, ON, finished fifth in his first World Cup competition earlier this summer in both the road race and the time trial.

In the Women’s C4-5 category, Marie-Claude Molnar took the bronze medal in a fight to the finish line Megan Fisher of the United States of America, showing no time behind the winner after a race that lasted 1h 56m 50s. “I am very proud. I worked very hard to prepare for this event, and the work paid off. Finished third on Friday motivated me to push even harder today. We worked hard on the physical aspect, but there was a lot of work done for concentration, keeping the focus, and I noticed a big difference today. “

On Friday, Molnar finished third in the Individual Time Trial race, but didn’t win a medal since there were only three competitors. In winning silver, Molnar surpassed her 2009 World Championships bronze medal performance in the road race.

“I thank the entire Canadian team in its entirety. The staff at the Canadian Cycling Association, the coaches, physiotherapists, mechanics, and especially Eric (Vanden Eynde, head coach) that really helped a lot. “

In the H2 road race, Mark Beggs (Montréal, QC) came fifth posting a time of 1h35m17s in the gruelling 4-lap, 46.5 km race. Rico Morneau (Sainte-Martine, QC) placed 13th position.

Early in the morning in the H1 race, Robert Labbé (Québec, QC) abandoned the race in the first kilometres due to mechanical issues, a flat tire that ended medal hopes for the vice-champion from the 2009 World Championships.

Organizers estimated over 1,000 spectators converged downtown to watch and cheer on the world’s best cyclist at these World Championships. The 2010 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships concludes on Sunday with the last road races.

Morning Results here.


Women C4 – 57km
1. Megan Fisher (United States) 1:56:50
2. Marie-Claude Molnar (Canada)
3. Susan Powell (Australia) 0:40

Women C5 – 57km
1. Sarah Storey (Great Britain) 1:39:03
2. Anna Harkowska (Poland) 0:05
3. Kelly Crowley (United States) 2:46
4. Greta Neimanas (United States) 6:06
5. Jennifer Schuble (United States 11:36
6. Fiona Southorn (New Zealand)
7. Claire McLean (Australia)
8. Michaela Bitsch (Germany) 17:47
9. Sara Tretola (Switzerland) 17:49
DNF Anastasia Kalaitzaki (Greece)

Men H4 – 57km
1. Oscar Sanchez (United States) 1:50:24
2. Ernst Van Dyk (South Africa) 0:49
3. Wim Decleir (Belgium) 0:49
4. José Vicente Arzo Diago (Spain) 1:27
5. Johan Reekers (Netherlands) 1:29
6. Alessandro Zanardi (Italy) 5:18
DNS Ouedraogo Lassane (Burkina Faso)
DNS Yacouba Tapsoba (Burkina Faso)

Men H2 – 45.6km
1. Jean-Marc Berset (Switzerland) 1:28:40
2. Heinz Frei (Switzerland) 2:39
3. Lukas Weber (Switzerland) 3:35
4. Matthew Updike (United States) 6:03
5. Mark Beggs (Canada) 6:37
6. Manfred Putz (Austria) 6:37
7. Vittorio Podesta (Italy) 6:38
8. Walter Ablinger (Austria) 7:11
9. Max Weber (Germany) 8:01
10. Paolo Cecchetto (Italy) 10:02
11. Stefan Bäumann (Germany) 10:03
12. Mischa Hielkema (Netherlands) 11:46
13. Rico Morneau (Canada) 12:29
14. Edward Camille Maalouf (Lebanon) 12:30
15. Mehrez Assas (France) 14:11
16. Stuart Mc Readie (South Africa) 17:28
17. David Franek (France) 18:49
18. Mauro Cattai (Itlay) 19:40
19. Hang Duk Cho (Korea) 22:07
20. Michael Taylor (Australia) 22:24
21. Yong Ki Kim (Korea) 23:24
22. Jarrod Moncur (Australia) 50:07:00
DNF Carlos Eduardo Camara (Brazil)
DNS David Randall (United States)

Men C1 – 78.8km
1. Michael Teuber (Germany) 1:40:09
2. Juan Jose Mendez Fernandez (Spain) 0:45
3. Pierre Senska (Germany) 6:16
4. Erich Winkler (Germany) 7:47
5. Jaye Milley (Canada) 8:14
6. Rodrigo Fernando Lopez (Argentina) 15:23
7. Anthony Zahn (United States) 15:24
8. Jarrad Langmead (Australia) 15:24
9. Jaco Nel (South Africa) 18:31
10. Andreas Zirkl (Austria) 19:49
11. Brayden Mcdougall (Canada) 22:05
12. Hervé Caron (France) 23:51

Men C2 – 78.8km
1. Victor Hugo Garrido Marquez (Venezuela) 1:38:38
2. Stephane Bahier (France)
3. Maurice Far Eckhard Tio (Spain) 0:05
4. Tobias Graf (Germany) 0:42
5. Michal Stark (Czech Republic)
6. Laurent Thirionet (France) 1:17
7. Gijs van Butselaar (Netherlands) 2:15
8. Antonio Garcia Martinez (Spain) 2:16
9. Alvaro Galvis Becerra (Colombia)
10. Flaviano Carvalho (Brazil) 3:25
11. Andrew Panazzolo (Australia) 7:34
12. Jérôme Lambért (France) 7:35
13. Fabrizio Macchi (Italy) 7:47
14. Jaroslav Svestka (Slovakia) 7:57
15. Roger Bolliger (Switzerland) 9:18
16. Arnold Boldt (Canada)
17. Matthieu Parént (Canada) 9:45

18. Colin Lynch (Ireland) 12:29
19. Cirio de Jesus Molina (Venezuela)
20. Cameron Muir (Australia)
21. Dedan Ireri Maina (Kenya) 17:30
22. Welington Antonio Cavalcante (Brazil) 20:02

Men C3 – 78.8km
1. Steffen Warias (Germany) 1:38:36
2. Roberto Bargna (Italy)
3. Jacky Galletaud (France) 0:02
4. Paolo Vigano (Italy) 0:48
5. Tomas Kvasnicka (Czech Republic)
6. RiK Waddon (Great Britain)
7. Michael Farrell (United States)
8. Nathan Smith (New Zealand)
9. Shaun McKeown (Great Britain)
10. Yong Sik Jin (Korea) 0:52
11. Masaki Fujita (Japan) 1:53
12. Glenn Johansen (Norway) 2:18
13. Amador Granados Alkorta (Spain) 3:04
14. Jefferson Spimpolo (Brazil) 3:27
15. Noel Sens (Australia) 5:31
16. Augusto Pereira (Portugal) 7:23
17. Sven Boekhoven (Netherlands) 12:31
DNS Juan Emilio Gutierrez Berenquel (Spain)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.