Featured Stories

UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup Matane Day 2 Report, Results – Canada Takes Home 4 Medals

report by Cycling Canada
August 23, 2013 (Matane, QC) – Four Canadian para-cyclists stormed the podium today in the second day of time trials at the 2013 UCI World Cup Finals in Matane, QC. Shelley Gautier of Toronto, ON rolled to the top of the podium in the T1 class, grabbing the first place with a time of 19:12.27, clearly outclassing her competitor with a gap of 2:15.

Marie-Claude Molnar of Ste-Adèle, QC took the second place in the women’s c4 class, crossing the line just under 12 seconds behind the winning time of 24:32. Her teammate Marie-Eve Croteau of Québec, QC also took the silver medal, despite started her training very late in the summer after being forced to rest for 10 months.

“It’s been about five weeks since I started training,” said Croteau to Sportcom. “At first, just to be in this competition, it was a lot for me, but with as the training session progressed lately, I felt that I would be close to the podium. There was that moment where everything just opened up.”

“Today (Friday), I have not pushed my body to its limit to make sure I’d get a result,” she added. “I made a few mistakes and I’m aware of them. I would still have finished second, but maybe 20 seconds closer to Cooke. The important thing is my return to health, and a new confidence boost.”

Nicole Clermont of Sherbrooke, QC earned her career first World Cup podium, taking the bronze medal with a time of 24:34.75, less than three seconds from the second place.

In the tandem races, Daniel Chalifour and pilot Alexandre Cloutier rode to the fifth place, less than one second from the bronze medal.

The event continues with the first wave of road races on Saturday, and one final day of competition on Sunday before cross the St-Lawrence River for the 2013 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships.s.


Men C1 (16.6km)
1. Michael Teuber (Germany) 24:24.89
2. Juan Jose Mendez (Spain) 24.39
3. Erich Winkler (Germany) 28.30

7. Jaye Milley (Canada) 1:28.98  

Men C2 (16.6km)
1. Aaron Keith (United States) 23:08.88
2. Colin Lynch (Ireland) 20.13
3. Arslan Gilmutdinov (Russia) 34.32

12. Arnold Boldt (Canada) 02:47.69  

Women C4 (16.6km)
1. Susan Powell (Australia) 24:33.22
2. Marie-Claude Molnar (Canada) 11.98
3. Megan Fisher (United States) 13.67

Women C5 (16.6km)
1. Greta Neimanas (United States) 23:38.12
2. Samantha Heinrich (United States) 53.07
3. Nicole Clermont (Canada) 56.63

Women T1 (8.3km)
1. Shelley Gautier (Canada) 19:12.27   
2. Bianca Woolford (Australia) 02:14.92

Women T2 (8.3km)
1. Carol Cooke (Australia) 14:14.548
2. Marie-Eve Croteau (Canada) 1:07.26   
3. Jana Majunke (Germany) 2:14.57

Men B Tandem (24.9km)
1. Italy (Ivano Pizzi/Lucca Pizzi) 29:41.96
2. Spain (Ignacio Avila Rodriguez/Joan Font Bertoli) 45.06
3. Spain (Christian Venge Balboa/David Llaurado Caldero) 47.80

5. Canada (Daniel Chalifour/Alexandre Cloutier) 48.73  
13. Canada (Alexandre Carrier/Aroussen Laflamme) 2:21.79
18. Independant (Mathieu Croteau-Daigle/Luc Dionne) 3:41.98

Men C4 (24.9km)
1. Jiri Jezek (Czech Republic) 32:27.34
2. Jeffrey Scott Martin (United States) 13.02
3. Roberto Alcaide Garcia (Spain) 00:23.66

15. Sebastien Bouchard (Canada) 04:36.42

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.