Featured Stories

UCI Pan-Am Road Championships Women/U23 Men’s ITT Report, Results – Silver for Canada’s Whitten, de Vos 7th

release by Cycling Canada

May 07, 2015 (Leon, Mexico) – Tara Whitten of Edmonton, AB (The Cyclery-OPUS) won the silver medal in the Elite Women’s 21.6km individual time trial race Thursday at the 2015 UCI Road Pan-American Championships in Leon, Mexico from May 7-10.

Elite Women's TT podium  ©

The London 2012 Olympic bronze medallist took a break from competition after the Olympic Games to focus on completing her doctorate studies. In the spring, she announced her return to competition with the objective to compete for Canada at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.

Today, she tackled the flat 21.6km course with confidence, and crossed the finish line 15s behind Carmen Small of the United States of America, who posted the winning time of 27:55.

“It feels really good to be back in international competition after almost three years away,” said Whitten from Mexico. “My legs were feeling really good today.  My pacing was a little off, but I’m happy that I could hold it together for a strong finish. I’m looking forward to building on this result as the rest of the season unfolds.”

Whitten will next race for the National Team at the 2015 Amgen Tour of California Invitational Time Trial, May 15 at Big Bear Lake.

Adam De Vos (Team HR Block) posted the best time for Canadians in the U23 Men’s 28.8km time trial race, in seventh place. Alex Cataford (Silber Pro Cycling) punctured and suffered mechanical issues, finishing ninth. The gold went to Ignacio Prado of Mexico.

The road races at the UCI Pan-American Championships will take place Saturday and Sunday.

Results (brief)

1. Carmen Small (USA) 27:55.178
2. Tara Whitten (Canada) 0:15.27
3. Clemilda Fernandez Silva (Brazil) 1:32.4
4. Ana Paula Polgatch (Brazil) 1:46.60
5. Ingrid Drexel (Mexico) 2:26.87

1. Ignacio Prado (Mexico) 35:06.150
2. Sebastian Trillini (Argentina) 0:13.60
3. José Rodríguez (Chile) 0:15.45
4. Edrigo Da Rosa (Brazil) 0:57.31
5. Jhonaton Restrapo (Colombia) 1:15.46
6. Richard Carapaz (Ecuador) 1:22.55
7. Adam de Vos (Canada) 1:25.85
8. Emilio Contreras (Argentina) 1:36.25
9. Alex Cataford (Canada) 2:11.47
10. Jose Alfredo Santoy0 (Mexico) 2:11.50

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.