Featured Stories

UCI News — Olympic Track Events Lost to BMX

June 10, 2005 – The UCI Management Committee met yesterday and today in The Hague, Netherlands. The new president of the Asian Cycling Confederation, Mr. Hee Wook Cho (KOR) participated for his first time at a session of the Management Committee.

On this occasion, the Dutch Cycling Federation (KNWU) organized a reception in honor of the UCI President, Mr. Hein Verbruggen, who will leave his functions in September. Mr. Verbruggen has received the decoration of “Officier in der orde van Oranje Nassau” by Mrs. Clemence Ross-van Dorp, Minister of Dutch Sports.

During its two work days, the Management Committee of the UCI decided the following :

– award the 2009 Road World Championships to Mendrisio (SUI)
– take off the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games Program the medals of Track Men Kilometer Time Trial and Women 500m Time Trial;

The IOC following the integration of BMX amongst the Olympic disciplines as from 2008 had imposed this measure. The choice of the Management Committee results from an in-depth evaluation done in concert with its National Federations.

The kilometer event and the 500m events will however continue to appear on the UCI Track World Championships program.

Within the frame of this same event, the UCI Management Committee decided that repêchage will be disputed after the 1/8th finals as from 2006.

After a very exhaustive relation with Mr. Vittorio Adorni, UPTC President, on negotiation status with organizers of the three Grands Tours, concerning their position vis-à-vis the UCI ProTour, the UCI Management Committee expressed its full support for actions taken by the UPTC.

The UCI Management Committee also approved the nomination of Jens Voigt as represented of the CPA next to its President Francesco Moser in the UPTC.

The candidature of Charlie Mottet, presented by the organizers, has also been retained. Christian Prudhomme’s candidature, however, is subject to the adhesion of ASO to the UCI ProTour for the 2006-2008 period.

Laurent De Backer, Rocco Cattaneo and Miguel Indurain were designated as members representing the UCI in the new organisation which replaces the Professional Cycling Council.

Finally, the UCI Management Committee has taken note with satisfaction of the agreement signed with the International Freestyle Federation, which will guarantee the ulterior development of the BMX discipline within the UCI. It has approved as well the principle of acquisition of the administrative building which shelters’ its headquarter in Aigle, property of the World Cycling Center Foundation, and the creation of a UCI Solidarity Foundation.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.