Featured Stories

Canada’s Smith 2nd at UCI MTB WCup Val di Sole DH – Junior Men/Elite Women, Men Full Results – Brown 6th, Wallace 7th

by pedalmag.com
June 16, 2013  (Val di Sole, Italy) – Mark Wallace (Devinci Global Racing) started things off for Canada with a solid 7th-place finish in the Junior Men’s DH competition on Sunday in Val di Sole, Italy as Australia’s Dean Lucas took the win. Canadian McKay Vezina placed 17th. Then Casey Brown (Dirt Norco Race Team) was just off the Elite Women’s podium in 6th as Rachel Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing took the win, and Canuck Micayla Gatto (Perform X Commencal) put in a top-10 run for 10th on the day.

In a thrilling finish to the Elite Men’s race Canada’s Steve Smith (Devinci Global Racing) put in a stellar run to take over the hot seat from Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate with only two riders to go. Aaron Gwin (USA) Specialized Racing DH the second fastest qualifier ended up 6th but Gee Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing, the fastest qualifier, put in superb ride to claim the win making it back-to-back victories for the Athertons.


Junior Men

1. Dean Lucas (Aus) Australia    3:24.630
2. Phil Atwill (Gbr) Madison Saracen Downhill Team   0.160
3. Luca Shaw (USA) Specialized Racing DH   0.188
4. Loris Vergier (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic    2.498
5. Gianluca Vernassa (Ita) Devinci Global Racing  3.788

7. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing   6.004
17. McKay Vezina (Can) Canada    9.926

Elite Women

1. Rachel Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing    3:43.810    0
2. Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic    5.235
3. Floriane Pugin (Fra) GSTAAD-Scott     12.053
4. Morgane Charre (Fra) MS Mondraker Team    14.233
5. Myriam Nicole (Fra) Commencal / Riding Addiction   15.495
6. Casey Brown (Can) Dirt Norco Race Team     16.06
10. Micayla Gatto (Can) Perform X Commencal     24.639

Elite Men

1. Gee Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing    3:12.185
2. Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing   1.001
3. Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate  1.250
4. Loic Bruni (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic   2.471
5. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing DH   4.121
6. Aaron Gwin (USA) Specialized Racing DH    4.123
7. Josh Bryceland (Gbr) Santa Cruz Syndicate    5.280
8. Florent Payet (Fra) Evil CK Racing Evian    6.341
9. Michael Hannah (Aus) Hutchinson UR    6.442
10. Markus Pekoll (Aut) MS Mondraker Team     6.501

72. Remi Gauvin (Can) Perform X Commencal      29.047

Junior Men’s results here.
Elite Women’s results here.
Elite Men’s results here.



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.