Featured Stories

Historic WIN for Smith at UCI MTB World Cup Leogang DH Elite Men – Full Results, Overall, Photos

by pedalmag.com

September 22, 2013 (Leogang, Austria) – Canada’s Steve Smith (Devinci Global Racing) pulled off a stunning historic victory at the final UCI MTB World Cup DH race in Leogang to capture the overall series title and the coveted crystal trophy.

Smith set the fastest qualifying time to move into the series lead by 3 points over Gee Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing and came down the mountain as the final rider on Sunday with a near perfect run for the finale victory becoming the first Canadian to win the overall UCI MTB World DH Elite Men’s title. “This is a dream come true,” said Smith. “I’m so pumped. It’s the most important win of my career.”


1. Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing    3:23.959
2. Loic Bruni (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic   1.311
3. Michael Hannah (Aus) Hutchinson UR 1.934
4. Gee Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing        2.858
5. Josh Bryceland (Gbr) Santa Cruz Syndicate       3.402
6. Marcelo Gutierrez Villegas (Col) Giant Factory Off-Road Team     4.267
7. Samuel Blenkinsop (Nzl) Lapierre Gravity Republic       4.320
8. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing Dh      5.577
9. Steve Peat (Gbr) Santa Cruz Syndicate       6.039
10. Connor Fearon (Aus) Kona       6.620

20. Kyle Sangers (Can) PerformX Commencal  9.289
61. Sidney Slotegraaf (Can) TUF Rack Racing       16.195
63. Remi Gauvin (Can)  PerformX Commencal      16.658
66. Kirk Mcdowall (Can)       16.717
74. Matthew Beer (Can)       18.764

Full results here.

Final Overall Standings

1. Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing    1,199 pts
2. Gee Atherton (Gbr) GT Factory Racing    1,121
3. Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate    673
4. Loic Bruni (Fra) Lapierre Gravity Republic    671
5. Samuel Blenkinsop (Nzl) Lapierre Gravity Republic    654
6. Michael Hannah (Aus) Hutchinson UR    638
7. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing Dh    601
8. Samuel Hill (Aus) Chain Reaction Cycles.Com / Nukeproof    590
9. Danny Hart (Gbr) Giant Factory Off-Road Team    584
10. Rémi Thirion (Fra) Commencal / Riding Addiction    577

46. Remi Gauvin (Can) PerformX Commencal    172
52. Kyle Sangers (Can) PerformX Commencal    162
68. Kirk Mcdowall (Can)    102
88. Forrest Riesco (Can) 48
93. Sidney Slotegraaf (Can) TUF Rack Racing  42
107. Matthew Beer (Can) 28
109. Samuel Thibault (Can) 27

Full standings here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.