Featured Stories

Smith 4th in Qualifications + PHOTOS – UCI MTB World Cup DH#1 Lourdes Junior Men, Elite Women/Men’s

by pedalmag.com
Steve Smith  ©  Michal Cerveny
April 09, 2016 (Lourdes, France) – Canada’s Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing led Canucks with a strong 4th place in the Elite Men’s Qualifications at UCI MTB World Cup DH#1 as the season gets underway in Lourdes, France. Reigning world champ Loic Bruni (Fra) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM topped the field.

Loic Bruni (Fra)  ©  Michal Cerveny
Former national DH champ, Vaea Verbeeck, qualified 20th in the Elite Women’s category and is the lone Canadian racing in Lourdes as Tahnee Seagrave (Gbr) Transition Factory Racing / FMD was the fastest down the mountain. Finnley Iles (Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM) was the top Junior man in 13th at 16s behind top qualifier Kevin Marry from France.

Vaea Verbeeck (Can)  ©  Michal Cerveny
Tahnee Seagrave (Gbr)  ©  Michal CervenyTahnee Seagrave (Gbr)
Finnley Iles (Can)  ©  Michal Cerveny
Magnus Manson (Can)  ©  Michal Cerveny
Lourdes  ©  Michal Cerveny


Junior Men

1. Kevin Marry (Fra) France 3:44.409
2. Matt Walker (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team 2.049 Q
3. Charlie Hatton (Gbr) Great Britain 5.756 Q
4. Nikolas Nestoroff (USA) Intense Factory Racing 7.981 Q
5. Jackson Frew (Aus) GT Factory Racing 8.637 Q
6. Sylvain Cougoureux (Fra) Les Gets-Intense Team 10.754 Q
7. Elliott Heap (Gbr) Chain Reaction Cycles / Paypal 10.961 Q
8. Remy Morton (Aus) Australia 12.637 Q
9. Kaos Seagrave (Gbr) Transition Factory Racing / FMD 13.777 Q
10. Simen Smestad (Nor) Norway 13.925 Q

13. Finnley Iles (Can) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM 16.216 Q
18. Henry Fitzgerald (Can) Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global 18.981 Q
19. Magnus Manson (Can) Canada 19.872 Q
44. Anthony Poulson (Can) Kona Factory Team Dh 43.786

1. Tahnee Seagrave (Gbr) Transition Factory Racing / FMD 4:09.773
2. Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH 3.322 Q
3. Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team 8.294 Q
4. Emilie Siegenthaler (Sui) Pivot Factory Racing 19.042 Q
5. Morgane Charre (Fra) Bergamont Hayes Factory Team 26.793 Q
6. Veronika Widmann (Ita) 45.66 Q
7. Jana Bartova (Cze) RRP 53.732 Q
8. Katy Curd (Gbr) 57.057 Q
9. Eleonora Farina (Ita) 57.475 Q
10. Alia Marcellini (Ita) 01:01.0 Q

20. Vaea Verbeeck (Can) 01:18.3 Q

Elite Men
1. Loic Bruni (Fra) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM 3:18.072
2. Josh Bryceland (Gbr) Santa Cruz Syndicate 5.671 Q
3. Gee Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH 6.642 Q
4. Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing 7.288 Q
5. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing 8.844 Q
6. Brendan Fairclough (Gbr) Gstaad-Scott 9.5 Q
7. Marcelo Gutierrez Villegas (Col) Giant Factory Off-Road Team 9.68 Q
8. Connor Fearon (Aus) Kona Factory Team Dh 10.525 Q
9. Loris Vergier (Fra) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM 12.03 Q
10. Aaron Gwin (USA) The YT Mob 12.301 Q

57. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing 23.782 Q
100. Forrest Riesco (Can) 43.013
114. Hugo Langevin (Can) 01:01.0
127. Philippe Ricard (Can) 02:00.4

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.