Featured Stories

UCI MTB World Cup DH #3 Fort William Qualifications, Photos + #longlivechainsaw Tribute – Iles 1st, Hill 17th, Wallace 18th

by pedalmag.com
Finnley Iles  ©  Michal Cerveny
June 04, 2016 (Fort William, Scotland) – A tribute to legendary Canadian DH rider, Steve Smith (Devinci Global), kicked off round three of the UCI MTB World Cup DH in Fort William, Scotland on Friday as 58 riders paid their respects by throwing down a training run full of big jumps and steezy whips – watch here.

Mark Wallace  ©  Michal Cerveny

In today’s qualification rounds Canada’s Finnley Iles (Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram) topped the Junior Men’s field while Jaime Hill qualified 17th as Canada’s lone Elite woman. Smith’s teammate Mark Wallace qualified 18th while fellow Canuck Forrest Riesco (Race Face Performance/Banshee Bikes) advanced placing 51st.

Gee Atherton  ©  Michal Cerveny
Carpenter  ©  Michal Cerveny
Rachel Atherton  ©  Michal Cerveny
Steve Peat  ©  Michal Cerveny
Steve Peat  ©  Michal Cerveny
 ©  Michal Cerveny

Junior Men
1. Finnley Iles (Can) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram 04:56.690
2. Charlie Hatton (Gbr)  0.995 Q
3. Matt Walker (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team 2.502 Q
4. Elliott Heap (Gbr) Chain Reaction Cycles / Paypal 2.978 Q
5. Sylvain Cougoureux (Fra) Les Gets-Intense Team 5.186 Q
6. James Purvis (Gbr) Propain Dirt Zelvy 5.931 Q
7. Nikolas Nestoroff (USA) Intense Factory Racing 6.198 Q
8. Gaetan Vige (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord 9.067 Q
9. Douglas Novack Vieira (Bra) Brazil 9.157 Q
10. Joe Parfitt (Gbr) Transition Factory Racing / FMD 11.526 Q

21. Adam Robbins (Can) Eastern States Cup North American Downhill Team 18.309 Q
22. Bracken Camilleri (Can) Team Canada 20.495 Q
25. Henry Fitzgerald (Can) Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global 22.079 Q
DNS Anthony Poulson (Can) Kona Factory Team DH

Elite Women

1. Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team 05:25.410
2. Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH 4.861 Q
3. Tracey Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR 5.423 Q
4. Morgane Charre (Fra) Bergamont Hayes Factory Team 17.263 Q
5. Emilie Siegenthaler (Sui) Pivot Factory Racing 20.133 Q
6. Veronika Widmann (Ita) 26.671 Q
7. Marine Cabirou (Fra) Voulvoul Racing 32.749 Q
8. Mariana Salazar Palomo (Esa) Dorval Am Nicolai 37.206 Q
9. Carina Cappellari (Sui) Radon Magura Factory 42.511 Q
10. Alanna Columb (Nzl) 42.895 Q

17. Jaime Hill (Can) 01:09.474 Q

Elite Men

1. Gee Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH 04:42.826 Q
2. Edward Masters (Nzl) Bergamont Hayes Factory Team 2.334 Q
3. Aaron Gwin (USA) The YT Mob 2.927 Q
4. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing 2.962 Q
5. Adam Brayton (Gbr) 3.156 Q
6. Luca Shaw (USA) SRAM/TLD Racing 4.365 Q
7. Greg Williamson (Gbr) Cube Global Squad Protected by Bliss 4.647 Q
8. George Brannigan (Nzl) Commencal / Vallnord 5.871 Q
9. Marcelo Gutierrez Villegas (Col) Giant Factory Off-Road Team 6.030 Q
10. George Gannicott (Gbr) One Vision Global Racing 6.228 Q

18. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing 8.373 Q
51. Forrest Riesco (Can) Race Face Performance/Banshee Bikes 15.185 Q


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.