Featured Stories

UCI MTB World Cup DH Cairns Junior Men, Elite Women/Men’s Final Report, Results, PHOTOS – Fitzgerald 13th, Iles DNS, Wallace 26th, Smith DNF

by pedalmag.com
Mark Wallace  ©  Fraser Britton
April 22, 2016 (Cairns, Australia) – Canada’s Henry Fitzgerald (Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global) finished 13th while fellow Canuck Finnley Iles (Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM) who won the opening round in France but crashed in his qualification run and injured his arm, did not start. Matt Walker (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team took the win. Iles drops from first to second, behind Walker with Fitzgerald 19th in the standings.

Finnley Iles (Can) crash  ©  Michal Cerveny
Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH continued her domination winning the Elite Women’s race over Tracey Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR with Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team in third. Atherton remains in charge in the overall standings.

Rachel Atherton  ©  Fraser Britton
Elite women's podium  ©  Michal Cerveny
Mark Wallace (Devinci Global Racing) was the top Elite man in 26th as his teammate and fellow Canuck Steve Smith flatted on his final run. Forrest Riesco finished 44th as Loic Bruni (Fra) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM, the reigning world champ, took his first World Cup victory. With no points in Cairns Smith drops from second to sixth in the overall standings while Wallace fell two spots to 13th. The USA’s Aaron Gwin (The YT Mob) in 5th at Cairns continues to lead the Elite Men’s series.

Steve Smith flat  ©  Michal Cerveny
Loic Bruni  ©  Fraser Britton
Loci Bruni  ©  Michal Cerveny
Elite Men's podium  ©  Fraser Britton
Forest Riesco  ©  Fraser Britton

Junior Men

1. Matt Walker (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team 03:38.985
2. Remy Morton (Aus) Australia 0.686
3. Harry Bush (Aus) Australia 1.155
4. Jackson Frew (Aus) GT Factory Racing 3.315
5. Joshua Clark (Aus) Australia – B 3.394

13. Henry Fitzgerald (Can) Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global 13.364
DNS Finnley Iles (Can) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM      

Full results here

Elite Women
1. Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH        3:48.566
2. Tracey Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR       7.098
3. Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team        9.806
4. Tahnee Seagrave (Gbr) Transition Factory Racing / Fmd        13.020
5. Morgane Charre (Fra) Bergamont Hayes Factory Team 19.845

Full results here.

Elite Men

1. Loic Bruni (Fra) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM        3:23.696
2. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing        0.493
3. Michael Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR        0.924
4. Aaron Gwin (USA) The YT Mob        2.952
5. Joshua Button (Aus) Kona        3.784
6. Greg Williamson (GBr) Cube Global Squad Protected By Bliss        3.840
7. Loris Vergier (Fra) Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM        4.041
8. Graeme Mudd (Aus)        4.377
9. George Brannigan (NZl) Commencal / Vallnord        4.423
10. Remi Thirion (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord        4.502

26. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing        8.622
44. Forrest Riesco (Can)        12.955
DNF Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.