Featured Stories

UCI MTB World Cup DH #3 Fort William Junior Men, Elite Women/Men Results – Canada’s Iles WINS

by pedalmag.com

June 05, 2016 (Fort William, Scotland) – Canada’s DHer Finnley Iles (Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram) took his second win this season in the Junior Men’s race at Fort William, round #3, and is back in the leader’s jersey. The Canadians were on form in Scotland as Adam Robbins (Eastern States Cup North American Downhill Team) claimed 13th and Henry Fitzgerald (Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global) placed 17th to put three finishers in the top 20. Bracken Camilleri (Team Canada) was 28th.

Finnley Iles  ©  Michal Cerveny

Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH claimed the Elite Women’s victory at home with Tracey Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR in second and fellow Brit Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team in third. Canada’s Jaime Hill finished in 20th.

Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate pulled off another WCup victory earning his 19th for the record books. Several crashes marred the day including Canada’s Mark Wallace (Devinci Global Racing) ending up 66th. Top qualifier Gee Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH also crashed near the top of his run and could not repeat his sister’s win.


Junior Men
1. Finnley Iles (Can) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram 4:52.075
2. Gaetan Vige (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord 3.530
3. Jackson Frew (Aus) GT Factory 5.138
4. Sylvain Cougoureux (Fra) Les Gets-Intense Team 5.434
5. Elliott Heap (Gbr) Chain Reaction Cycles / Paypal 6.281

13. Adam Robbins (Can) Eastern States Cup North American Downhill Team 19.032
17. Henry Fitzgerald (Can) Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global 23.161
28. Bracken Camilleri (Can) Team Canada 1:09.406

Standings after 3 events

1. Finnley Iles (Can) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram 120 pts
2. Matt Walker (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team 100
3. Gaetan Vige (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord 75

Full results here.

Elite Women

1. Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH    5:11. 219
2. Tracey Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR    12.049
3. Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team    20.889
4. Katy Curd (Gbr)    29.805
5. Morgane Charre (Fra) Bergamont Hayes Factory Team    31.830

20. Jaime Hill (Can)    1:21.077

Full results here,

Elite Men

1. Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate    4:35.601
2. Aaron Gwin (USA) The YT Mob    3.357
3. Danny Hart (Gbr) MS Mondraker Team    3.995
4. Adam Brayton (Gbr) Hope Technologies    4.046
5. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing    4.734
6. Luca Shaw (USA) SRAM/TLD Racing    6.086
7. Greg Williamson (Gbr) Cube Global Squad protected by Bliss    6.187
8. Laurie Greenland (Gbr) MS Mondraker Team    6.285
9. Remi Thirion (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord    7.964
10. Connor Fearon (Aus) Kona Factory Team DH    8.524

47. Forrest Riesco (Can) Race Face Performance/Banshee Bikes    19.251
66. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing    29.226

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.