Featured Stories

UCI MTB World Cup Albastadt Elite Men’s FULL Results, Photos – Updates

by pedalmag.com

May 19, 2013 (Albastadt, Germany) – The Elite Men’s race is soon underway in tough conditions as the rain started at the end of the women’s race making the course very slippery… but it’s stopping now for the start. A packed field includes many top contenders such as Nino Schurter (Sui) Scott Swisspower, Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) Specialized and Julian Absalon (Fra) BMC. Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox Racing) leads the Canadian men with Max Plaxton (ShoAir-Cannondale), Derek Zanstra (Scott-3Rox Racing), Raphael Gagne (Team Canada), Cameron Jette (Scott-3Rox Racing) and Adam Morka (WFPcoaching/Trek Bikes)… the men will do 7 laps x 4.2km for a total of 29.4km.

Lap 1
Fontana jumps the start but they don’t call it back… now Florian Vogel (Sui) Swisspower and Schurter are off the front and the pack is just behind.

Down the first descent lots of riders go down on a slipper corner.

Vogel and Schurter have gapped the field – Marek Konwa (Pol) Brentjens is now in third – Kulhavy is close behind.

Canada’s Kabush and Gagne are in the teens.

Vogel bobbles but he’s still on the bike… now Schurter drops to 6th as Kulhavy is in 2nd – Gagne is 13th.

There are lots of crashes on the downhill sections.

Lap 2
Now Mathias Fluckiger (Sui) Stockli is in front at 13:48 with Absalon in second and Kulhavy in 3rd at 12s.

Vogel is 4th… Lukas Fluckiger is 5th – and Schurter is in 9th.

Gagne is 14th, Plaxton is 20th at 55s and Kabush is 21st at 57s.

Absalon takes over the lead and is riding smooth – he was caught up in one of the early crashes but regained his position.

The course is very slippery but Absalon is making good time and gapping Fluckiger.

Fontana is in third leading the chase group at 30s… Giger is 4th, Lukas Fluckiger is 5th, Vogel is 6th and Maxime Marotte (Fra) BH Suntour is 7th – Schurter has dropped to 15th at 54s.

Canada’s Gagne is now 17th at 1:05… Plaxton is 19th at 1:09 and Kabush is 23rd at 1:23

Lap 3
Absalon in alone coming thru in 27:41 to start lap 3… Mathias Fluckiger is second at 25s then it’s Giger alone in 3rd at 37s.

A group of six riders lead by Marotte follow at about 50s w/Vogel, Lukas Fluckiger, Kulhavy in there.

Then it’s Hermida and Van Houts… followed by Plaxton and Schurter – Gagne is off the pace.

The A-line on the jump descent was closed due to a downed rider…

Absalon is riding smooth… Giger has caught and passed Mathias Fluckiger.

Marotte and Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Esp) Wild Wolf Trek are alone in 4th and 5th.

Kulhavy is 6th, Cink is 7th and Vogel is 8th… Plaxton is now in 15th.

Gagne and Kabush are in the mid 20s… Zandstra and Jette are further back.

Lap 4
Absalon is in charge starting the 4th lap at 41:56… Giger is alone in 2nd at 0:49s.

Marotte is 3rd at 1:06, Mantecon is 4th at 1:08 and Mathias Fluckiger with a chain problem is now 5th 1:13.

The course is drying up as the sun is trying to come out.

Schurter is having some tech problems and is now in 25th.

Giger is second at 1:13… Marotte and Mantecon are not far behind at 1:26 – then it’s Mathias Fluckiger in 5th Kulhavy in 6th at 1:50 followed by Van Houts in 7th, Cink in 8th.

Plaxton is making up ground now in 11th.

Lap 5
Absalon continues his onslaught at 56:17… Giger is 2nd at 1:23.

Mantecon is together with Marotte in 3rd and 4th at 1:38 and gaining Giger – Mathias Fluckiger is 5th at 1:55 and Kulhavy is 6th.

Plaxton has moved into 10th at over 2min…

Absalon has a serious mechanical…his rear derailleur is gone and in his rear wheel (?).

He’s carrying his bike and walking/running to the next tech area.

Absalon is out.

Giger takes over the lead – not so fast Mantecon is now leading.

Lap 6
Mantecon is in front at 1:12:48 – but Giger is close behind at only 0:03 with Marotte at 12s.

Kulhavy is now in 4th at 28s with Lukas Fluckiger in 5th with him – then it’s Daniel McConnell (Aus) Trek in 6th

Plaxton is riding well now 9th at 50s… Kabush is 17th at 2:08

Mantecon is on fire at he tastes his first WCup victory.

Fluckiger passes Kulhavy for 4th

At the half way point it’s Mantecon extending his lead to 18s over Giger with Marotte only 3s behind in 3rd.

Plaxton is now 7th at 54s.

Mantecon starts the final lap at 1:27:52… but Marotte is not far behind in second at 9s then it’s Giger in 3rd at 16s.

Kulhavy is 4th at 26s with Lukas Fluckiger in 5th and McConnell is 6th.

Plaxton is now 7th at 45s…

Kulhavy attacks and has caught Marotte and is now in 2nd – they are gaining on Mantecon.

Mantecon is still leading on the descent being chased by four riders lead by Kulhavy.

McConnell attacks and is now in second ahead of Kulhavy

On the final climb it’s Mantecon at 1:36:40 followed by McConnell at 8s… then it’s Kulhavy in 3rd at 9s.

Giger takes over 7th as Plaxton is now 8th at 1min…

McConnell catches Mantecon as the two are now out front on their own – neither have ever won a World Cup.

McConnell takes IT.


1. Daniel McConnell (Aus) Trek Factory 1:42:36
2. Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Esp) Wild Wolf Trek 0:02
3. Jaroslev Kulhavy (Cze) Specialized 0:13
4. Maxime Marotte (Fra) BH – SR Suntour – KMC 0:17
5. Lukas Flückiger (Sui) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 0:31

7. Max Plaxton (Can) ShoAir-Cannondale 1:20
15. Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing 2:53
36. Derek Zanstra (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing 7:02
45. Raphael Gagne (Can) Team Canada 9:10
59. Cameron Jette (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing 11:22
DNS Adam Morka (Can) WFPcoaching/Trek Bikes

Full results HERE.




Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.