Featured Stories

UCI MTB World Cup 4X #1 South Africa Full Results, Report, Photos – Graves and Beerten Win

by Fraser Britton

April 11, 2009 (Pietermaritzburg, South Africa) – Australia’s Jared Graves (Yeti Cycles) has come back to the MTB World Cup circuit with a vengeance. The Aussie Olympian will be racing both 4X and DH circuits for the first time since his ride at the Beijing Olympics. The Aussie pinner took home the win convincingly riding off the front all night.

“I just tried to really get the training in, in the last three or four months. One thing that the Olympics really taught me is how to train. All the sports scientists really showed me how to get the most out of myself. I’ve been sticking to that problem. I’ve been riding my bike a lot more and just trying to cover all of my bases. I was trying to put myself in the best position possible. I’m really pumped to be back for the full season, it’s been a couple of years since I’ve done that. You can jump back on the mountain bike no worries. It’s not as twitchy, I’m enjoying time off the BMX.”

Graves beat Michal Prokop (CZE – Author), defending world champion Rafael Lara Lucas (Spain – Specialized) and Roger Rinderknecht (SUI) in the finals.

For the women it was Anneke Beerten (NED – Intense Cycles) riding gate to gate for the win in convincing fashion. She beat Fionn Grffiths (GBR – Norco), Romana Labounkova (CZE) and Jana Harakova (CZE) by riding off the front all night. American Jill Kinter was 5th, winning the small final. No Canadians were racing.

Full men’s results pdf here.


Elite Women

1. Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center
2. Fionn Grffiths (Gbr) Norco World Team
3. Romana Labounkova (Cze)
4. Jana Harakova (Cze)
5. Jill Kintner (USA)
6. Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center
7. Melissa Buhl (USA)
8. Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)

Elite Men

1. Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team
2. Michal Prokop (Cze) Author
3. Rafael Lara Lucas (Esp) Specialized
4. Roger Rinderknecht (Sui)
5. Romain Saladini (Fra) Team Sunn
6. Cedric Garcia (Fra)
7. Scott Beaumont (Gbr) Rocky Mountain UK
8. Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team
9. Dan Atherton (Gbr) Animal Commencal
10. Guido Tschugg (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.