Featured Stories

UCI MTB WCup DH #4 Leogang Junior Men, Elite Women/Men’s Results – Double Canadian Podium Iles 2nd, Miller 3rd

by pedalmag.com
Finnley Iles  ©  Michal Cerveny
June 12, 2016 (Leogang, AUT) – Canada’s Finnley Iles and Miranda Miller both with Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram landed on the final podium in the respective races today at round #4 of the UCI MTB World Cup DH in Leogang, Austria.

Women's podium (l-r) Seagrave, Atherton, Miller  ©
Miranda Miller  ©  Michal Cerveny

Iles, who qualified 6th, finished second in the Junior Men’s race won by Gaetan Vige (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord. Miller, the reigning national Elite Women’s DH champ, delivered a very strong 4th in the Elite Women’s qualifications and then put the hammer down to claim 3rd. She earned her first World Cup podium last year at home in Mont-Sainte-Anne at round 5 placing 5th.

Junior Men's podium (l-r) Iles, Vige, Cougoureux  ©  Michal Cerveny

Aaron Gwin (USA) The YT Mob powered to victory in the Elite Men’s race defending his stronghold on the Leogang venue with a 3s margin over Loris Vergier (Fra) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram looking for his first WCup win. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing placed 40th and Forrest Riesco (Can) was 62nd. Gwin continues to lead overall.

Results (brief)

Junior Men
1. Gaetan Vige (Fra) Commencal / Vallnord    3:50.934
2. Finnley Iles (Can) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram       0.625
3. Sylvain Cougoureux (Fra) Les Gets-Intense Team       4.119
4. Nikolas Nestoroff (USA) Intense Factory Racing       4.596
5. Elliott Heap (Gbr) Chain Reaction Cycles / Paypal     6.639

15 Henry Fitzgerald (Can) Steve Peat Syndicate / Uberbike Global     22.970
DNS Magnus Manson (Can) Canada

Elite Women
1. Rachel Atherton (Gbr) Trek Factory Racing DH    4:09.394
2. Tahnee Seagrave (Gbr) Transition Factory Racing / FMD       5.370
3. Miranda Miller (Can) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram      9.912
4. Tracey Hannah (Aus) Polygon UR       11.489
5. Manon Carpenter (Gbr) Madison Saracen Factory Team       11.955

Elite Men
1. Aaron Gwin (USA) The YT Mob    3:28.686
2. Loris Vergier (Fra) Specialized Gravity Powered by Sram    3.131
3. Troy Brosnan (Aus) Specialized Racing    4.118
4. Danny Hart (Gbr) MS Mondraker Team      5.369
5. Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate    6.479

40. Mark Wallace (Can) Devinci Global Racing    17.837
62. Forrest Riesco (Can)    22.523

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.