Featured Stories

UCI MTB 4X #3 Andorra Finals Report, Photos – Griffiths and Wichman Score

by Fraser Britton

May 16, 2009 (Vallnord, Andorra) – Joost Wichman (Ned) RSP Racing and Fionn Griffiths (Gbr) Norco took home the wins in front of thousands of fans on a jump-filled Andorra 4X course. The track here is known for its loose rocks and and massive jumps that cover it from top to bottom, and both would play a part in the racing this weekend. The threatening skies held off dumping on an already soft course, and allowed for some fast and loose racing.

In the men’s final, Graves (Aus) Yeti went wide around the first gate after a perfect start, and opened the door for Maddill (Aus) GT and Wichman to move past. Graves and Rinderchnect (Sui) GT battled once again in the last corner and went down, and a footrace ensued to the finish as Wichman crossed the finish line alone, fist in the air.

“It’s my first world cup win and it was awesome. I think I need some more wins,” said Wichman. “We got tangled in the first turn, Roger was first and I was second and I made a small mistake. I went outside in the rhythm and I went for it through the gap.”

For the women it was Griffiths who took advantage of a first corner wreck that took out Kintner (USA) Intense and Harakova (Cze) to take home the gold. World Cup Leader Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center laid down the power but couldn’t pass the English speedster.

“My gates were crappy all day, so I held back on the start, due to my crap gate,” commented Griffiths. “I was going to punch the inside and I saw Kintner hadn’t turned and Harakova came over, so I braked and went around. It was super loose, so it suited me well.”

No Canadians participated.



1. Fionn Griffiths (Gbr) Norco World Team
2. Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center
3. Jana Horakova (Cze)
4. Jill Kintner (USA) Intense
5. Emmeline Ragot (Fra) SCT
6. Melissa Buhl (USA)
7. Caroline Buchanan (Aus)
8. Rachel Seydoux (Sui)
9. Joanna Petterson (Rsa)
10. Mio Suemasa (Jpn)
11. Diana Marggraff (Ecu)
12. Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)
13. Lucia Oetjen (Sui)
14. Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)
15. Eva Castro Fernandez (Esp)
16. Neven Steinmetz (USA)
17. Anita Molcik (Aut)
18. Sarsha Huntington (Aus)
19. Steffi Marth (Ger)
20. Katarina Tothova (Cze)
21. Esther Leroy (Fra)
22. Tereza Votavova (Cze)
23. Maria Sanchez Veliz (Esp)
24. Romana Labounkova (Cze)


1. Joost Wichman (Ned) RSP Racing
2. Luke Madill (Aus) GT Bicycles
3. Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team
4. Roger Rinderknecht (Sui) GT Bicycles
5. Tomas Slavik (Cze)
6. Romain Saladini (Fra) SRS
7. Filip Polc (Svk) MSE
8. Jurg Meijer (Ned)
9. David Graf (Sui)
10. Michal Prokop (Cze)
11. Guido Tschugg (Ger) GHO
12. Patrick Campbell-Jenner (Gbr)
13. Michal Marosi (Cze)
14. Sascha Meyenborg (Ger)
15. Lukas Mechura (Cze) CRC
16. Marek Pesko (Svk)
17. Mickael Deldycke (Fra)
18. Quentin Derbier (Fra)
19. Dominik Gspan (Sui)
20. Javier Guijarro Villacieros (Esp) XMS
21. Pascal Seydoux (Sui)
22. Florian Gottschlich (Ger)
23. Tom Dowie (Gbr)
24. Felix Beckeman (Swe)
25. Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)
26. Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lucas (Esp) SFR
27. Nico Seidel (Ger) GHO
28. Martin Frei (Sui)
29. Jan Ersek (Svk)
30. Ziga Knez (Slo)
31. Matej Vitko (Svk)
32. Randal Huntington (Aus)
33. Matthieu Faury (Fra)
34. Lewis Lacey (Gbr) CRC
35. Rastislav Pirman (Svk)
36. Joey Van Veghel (Ned)
37. Scott Roberts (Gbr)
38. William Evans (Gbr)
39. Duncan Ferris (Gbr)
40. David Axelsson (Swe)
41. Adrian Kiener (Sui)
42. Adam Stasek (Cze) GHO
43. Adrien Loron (Fra)
44. Nicolas Gspan (Sui)
45. Bernard Kerr (Gbr)
46. Peter Prajczer (Hun)
47. Ludovic Gadois (Fra) TVR
48. Borja Carrasco Morera (Esp)
49. Thomas Schäfer (Ger) SAF
50. Tilen Frank (Slo)
51. Francisco Javier Gutierrez Trigo (Esp)
52. Vincent Rasera (Fra)
53. Adrian Hanko (Ger)
54. Ghislain Ricci (Fra)
55. Scott Beaumont (Gbr) RUK
56. Oskar Harnstrom (Swe)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.