Featured Stories

UCI Mountain Bike World Cup XCO #3 La Bresse Elite Men’s Full Results, Standings – Bouchard 20th

by pedalmag.com
Leandre Bouchard  ©  courtesy of Raphael Gagne
May 29, 2016 (La Bresse, FRA) – Leandre Bouchard (Can) Team Canada raced to 20th for a solid day at the office in La Bresse as Julien Absalon (Fra) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team romped to victory leading a French top-3 podium sweep in front of adoring fans on home turf. Maxime Marotte (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC was second and Victor Koretzky (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC third.

Absalon celebrates  ©

Two flats for Nino Schurter (Sui) Scott-Odlo MTB Racing Team on a new 29er bike almost put him out of contention but he fought back almost catching Koretzky near the end. Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) Specialized Racing took the final podium spot.

Elite men's podium  ©

Elite men’s podium [P]

Raphael Gagne (Can) Team Canada put on a show at the start taking the holeshot and was in the teens as he dropped back to race with Bouchard who was on good form and moved up to claim the top Canadian spot and his best result in the Elite Men’s field.

Raph Gagne (#15) at the start  ©


1. Julien Absalon (Fra) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team    1:26:38
2. Maxime Marotte (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC    1:00
3. Victor Koretzky (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC    1:24
4. Nino Schurter (Sui) Scott-Odlo MTB Racing Team    1:42
5. Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) Specialized Racing    2:06
6. Mathias Fluckiger (Sui) Stöckli Pro Team    2:25
7. Jordan Sarrou (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC    2:31
8. Matthias Stirnemann (Sui) Moebel Maerki MTB Pro Team    2:43
9. Reto Indergand (Sui) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team    3:09
10. Luca Braidot (Ita)     3:53

20. Leandre Bouchard (Can) Team Canada    5:23
34. Raphael Gagne (Can) Team Canada    7:21
44. Derek Zandstra (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing    8:22
58. Evan Mcneely (Can) Norco Factory Team    10:47
61. Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing    11:06
78. Evan Guthrie (Can) Norco Factory Team    -1 Lap

Full results here.

Standings after 3 events
1. Nino Schurter (Sui) Scott-Odlo MTB Racing Team 650 pts
2. Julien Absalon (Fra) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 610
3. Maxime Marotte (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC 560
4. Luca Braidot (Ita)     303
5. Mathias Fluckiger (Sui) Stöckli Pro Team 300

20. Raphael Gagne (Can) Team Canada 173
28. Derek Zandstra (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing 146
32. Leandre Bouchard (Can) Team Canada 134

Full standings here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.