Featured Stories

UCI Announces ELITE MTB Teams for 2012

release by the UCI

December 19, 2011 (Aigle, Switzerland) – The International Cycling Union (UCI) has announced the 15 “endurance” XCO teams and 14 “gravity” DH/4X teams that will race with the “UCI ELITE Mountain Bike” label in 2012.

These teams will benefit from numerous advantages: notably free entry at UCI Mountain Bike World Cup events and free entry for all races on the UCI Mountain Bike International Calendar. In return, they are obliged to enter at least one rider in all rounds of the 2012 UCI RockyRoads Mountain Bike World Cup presented by Shimano and to display the UCI ELITE Mountain Bike Team logo on their race outfits and team vehicles.

The creation, in 2011, of a higher tier of mountain bike teams was well received and in addition stimulated competition between teams wishing to achieve the status of UCI ELITE Mountain Bike Team.

Invitations to join the Elite teams were issued to the top teams of a UCI ranking established on 26th September by adding up the UCI points of the best riders within each team. They had until 10th December to confirm their interest. A maximum of 15 of the top 20 ranked teams can feature on the list of UCI ELITE Mountain Bike Teams in their category.

Two teams, Trek World Racing and Ghost Factory Racing Team, will have the ELITE status in both the “endurance” and “gravity” categories in 2012.

The final list of the UCI ELITE Mountain Bike Teams for 2012, in ranking order, is:

– Specialized Racing Team (USA)
– Multivan Merida Biking Team (GER)
– Felt Oetztal X-Bionic Team (GER)
– Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team (NED)
– BH SR Suntour Peisey-Vallandry (FRA)
– Scott-Swisspower MTB Racing Team (SUI)
– Cannondale Factory Racing (GER)
– Subaru-Trek (USA)
– Orbea (ESP)
– Luna Pro Team (USA)
– Colnago Farbe Sudtirol (ITA)
– Topeak Ergon Racing Team (GER)
– CCC Polkowice (POL)
– Trek World Racing (ESP)
– Ghost Factory Racing Team (GER)

– Trek World Racing (ESP)
– Scott 11 (SUI)
– Santa Cruz Syndicate (USA)
– GT Bicycles (GBR)
– Giant Factory Off-road Team (USA)
– MS Mondraker Racing (AUT)
– Riding Addiction Commen├žal (FRA)
– Monster Energy / Specialized Factory Racing (USA)
– Lapierre International (FRA)
– Chain Reaction Cycles.com / Nukeproof (GBR)
– Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team (USA)
– Ghost Factory Racing Team (GER)
– Alpine Commen├žal Austria (AUT)
– Hutchinson United Ride (FRA)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.