Featured Stories

Trophée Centre Morbihan – Three Canadians in Top 12 at UCI Nations Cup

release by Cycling Canada

August 04, 2013 (France) – The 2013 Trophée Centre Morbihan cycling race ended today in France, and three Canadian junior men placed within the Top 12 of the 212.2 kilometre race, which is part of the UCI Nations Cup.

Adam Jamieson (17; Barrie, ON) was Canada’s best at this three-stage race, placing in seventh place. With the ranking, Jamieson is also crowned the Best Young Rider of the race, finishing just 1:14 from the winning time set by Mathieu van der Poel of Netherland, son of legendary cyclist Andrei van der Poel.

In ninth place came William Elliot (18; Barrie, ON), just one second off Jamieson’s time.  Sean MacKinnon (17; Hamilton, ON) ended the race in 12th place.

Team Canada finishes the race in third place among the 17 nations represented at the Nations Cup. With the stellar performance from the team at this race, Canada jumps to the 13th place of the UCI Nations Cup rankings, from 27th prior to the week.

Luc Arseneau, Development coach at Cycling Canada, is pleased with the outcome in France. “We are thrilled with the third place in the team rankings, especially since all the big nations and riders were present. It’s a pleasure to build and lead such a great team. We are progressing year after year, and now we must teach our young cyclists how to win. In the past not too distant ago, we were really far from that stage. This was an important project, including Abitibi. The guys learnt a lot in a long project as this one, compared to a short-term project.”

This event was the last event of the UCI junior Nations Cup before the 2013 UCI Road World Championships, held late in September.

Final GC – Trophée Centre Morbihan

1. Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) 5:12:51 (Moy. 40,697 Km/H)
2. Aleksandr Riabushenko (Blr) +0:15
3. Rémi Cavagna (Fra) +0:22
4. Elie Gesbert (Fra) +0:51
5. Sam Oomen (Ned) +0:51
6. Artem Nych (Rus) +1:07
7. Adam Jamieson* (Can) +1:14
8. Diego Binatena* (Usa) +1:14
9. William Elliott (Can) +1:15
10. Kristoffer Halvorsen* (Nor) +1:15
11. Axel Journiaux (Fra) +1:17
12. Sean Mackinnon (Can) +1:20


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.