Featured Stories

Trackfest 2

July 24, 2006 (Victoria, B.C.) – An unusual heat wave and perfectly still air made for blistering fast times at Trackfest 2, July 22, at the Juan de Fuca Velodrome in Victoria. Twenty seven riders from across the province competed in four events for a share of the $1,600 in cash and prizes.

In the elite men’s group A it was a battle of the Matts with current National team rider Matt Chater (Team Fast Twitch Vancouver), edging out former national rider Don Gillmore (Dr. Walker Sports Chiropractor /GVVA Victoria) in the 10 km Scratch race and team-mate Matt Barlee, of Victoria powering to wins in the Chariot Race (one lap from a standing start) and the motopaced Keirin.

Barlee’s two wins and a fourth in the scratch and Gillmore’s win in the 24 km points race, and seconds in the scratch and chariot tied for the omnium title of Group A and a split of the $200 first overall prize money. Also of note were great performances by Bob Cameron (Cameron Law), second in the points race and third in the scratch, and Dave Shishkoff (Organic Athlete) in his first year racing in A’s with a third in the points and second in the Keirin.

Group B was a battle of the doctors with Mike Cooper (Dr. Walker/GVVA) and Wayne Walker (Dr. Walker/GVVA) in excitingly close races, finishing 1-2 in both the 8 Km Scratch and Keirin, with Dr. Mike taking the Omnium overall win. Mike also finished third in the Chariot race just behind
Adam Lawrence (Team Schwalbe) and Mark Butschler (Team Fast Twitch) and second to Mark in the 20 km points race. David Mercer (Dr. Walker/GVVA) finished in a remarkable second place tie in the omnium, amazing considering that this is David’s first competitive year racing and he is 63 years old!

Also of note are the performances of Jennifer Lee (Team Campione), the only woman racing with the B’s , who did well enough to finish in a tie for the Women’s Omnium with Danielle McLaughlin (Team Fast Twitch) who had an amazing run in the C category, with a win in the 15 km points race, and second place finishes in the Scratch, Chariot and Keirin races while still recovering from a recent injury. Irena Rindos finished second in the Women’s omnium with consistent points in all of her races in the C division.

In the C group Reg Fredricksen (Dr. Walker /GVVA) won the omnium with wins over Danielle in the Chariot and Keirin races, as well as third place behind winner Roland Rabien (who had two third place finishes in the points and keirin) in the Scratch race. The C group was also remarkable for the variety of ages of the riders in contention, from Junior Omnium winner James Graham (Dr. Walker/ GVVA) at age 12 to Harry Ladds (he’s not telling his age) who both finished consistently with respectable times in each race. Also Dave Richardson (Dr. Walker / GVVA) had a second place performance in the closely contested Points race and Stef Moreau had an excitingly close third place in the Chariot race.

The appreciative crowd had an added thrill of being part of the inspiration that drove our elite paralympian, multiple national champion at the recent track nationals in Bromont, Quebec, Ryan Arbuckle (Team Fast Twitch, Victoria) to a World qualifying time in the Kilometer ITT, and to a near miss, less than one second off the qualifying time for the 3 km Pursuit.

It was an exciting day of fast and furious track racing, with sponsors Lighthouse Brewery and Ali Baba pizza providing food and refreshments. We would like to thank our other sponsors included Bob Cameron Law Corporaton, Dr. Wayne Walker Sports Chiropractor, Schwalbe Tires, Straight Up Cycles, Oak Bay Bikes, Cycles West, North Park Bikes, and Vega nutritional products as well as Commissaires John and Bruce, assistants Tom and Brenda, as well as Marcus and his crew, Linda, Cassandra, Stef, and Kim on the microphone and tunes.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.