Featured Stories

Tour de l’Abitibi Stage 7 Report, Full Results, Final GC – Sheehan Wins Overall, Penno 7th

release by the Tour de l'Abitibi

July 24, 2017 (Amos, Que.) – Kurt Penno (Team Canada) was the top Canadian overall in 7th as Riley Sheehan (Team USA) won the 49th edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi that wrapped up on Sunday. Denzel Stephenson (USA) Colorado Select p/b Brac-excel Sports won the final 115km Stage 7 from La Sarre to Amos with Richard Holec (Cze) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized 2nd and Kouki Shinoda (Jpn) Team Japan. Robin Plamondon (Can) Team Quebec was the top Canuck in 11th.

Kurt Penno wins Stage 1  ©  Vincent Drouin

The American Riley Sheehan wins the Tour de l’Abitibi
report by the Tour de l’Abitibi

AMOS, July 23, 2017 – The seventh and final stage of the 49th edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi, presented by Hécla Québec, took place today. The start was given in La Sarre and the cyclists undertook a final stage of all the way to Amos. Denzel Stephenson of Colorado Select p / b Brac-Excel Sports is the winner of stage 7. He was followed by Richard Holec (Lux / Stradling p / b Specialized) and Kouki Shinoda (Japan).

The jerseys’ winners
It is the young first-year rider Riley Sheehan who won the Tour de l’Abitibi. He returned with the brown and blue jerseys and officially became the fourth rider in the history of the Tour to have won the overall standings without having a gold medal. The orange jersey Hydro-Québec was won by Richard Holec and, as expected, it was Ama Nsek who left with the polka dot jersey. This final has been lived up to the expectations and without surprises.

Final Jerseys  ©  Tour de l’Abitibi
The United States at the top of the overall standings
The US national team is at the top of the general ranking thanks to four of its top 10 riders. The team led by Barney King, a 20-year-old coach, is fortunate to have a young remarkable and talented team. They will definitely be on the lookout for the next edition. Canada is doing well with its third place, while Quebec is in the fifth place. The regional IAMGOLD team finished the competition in the16th place.

IAMGOLD Relief Tour
IAMGOLD’s Next Tour was at its 19th edition this year. Nearly 200 riders aged 6 to 16 from across Quebec competed on the weekend. An ounce of gold offered by the defending partner IAMGOLD was randomly drawn from all participants and Louis-Charles Proulx of the Amos cycling club was lucky. The trophy of the best abitibien hope was handed to Christophe Hamel, also from the cycling club of Amos.

A 50th edition that promises
The 50th edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi will take place in Val-d’Or in 2018. The committee that is especially setting up for the occasion has been preparing for the last several months colorful festivities. So, don’t miss the next edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi!

Special prizes
Best individual time trial: Fernando Islas Lopez – Mexico
Best rookie: Fernando Islas Lopez – Mexico
Most Gentleman Rider: Simon Dubuc – IAMGOLD
Most Courageous Rider: Alexis Rochette – Desjardins Ford
Best Team Spirit: Japan
Best Sports Director: Barney King – USA
Best Mecanic: Pier-Luc Poliquin – IAMGOLD
Trophée Ghislain Luneau (Most combative cyclist): Kurt Penno – Canada
Trophée Kevin Lacombe (Best Abitibian rider): Charles-Étienne Chrétien – Canada


1. Denzel Stephenson (USA) Colorado Select p/b Brac-excel Sports 2:29:45
2. Richard Holec (Cze) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized
3. Kouki Shinoda (Jpn) Team Japan
4. Gabriel Drapeau Zgoralski (Can) Novo Nordisk
5. Sean Quinn (USA) Team USA
6. Eugene Kakizaki (Jpn) Team Japan
7. Lucas Boniface (Fra) Team France
8. Alfie Peters (Gbr) Novo Nordisk
9. Ross Ellwood (USA) Colorado Select p/b Brac-excel Sports
10. Sean Mcelroy (USA) Team USA
11. Robin Plamondon (Can) Team Quebec
12. Daniel Gutierrez Ballestero (Col) Team Colombia
13. Felix Boutin (Can) Team Quebec
14. Sander Kempi (Est) Team Estonia
15. Ken Sato (Jpn) Team Japan
16. Dominic Falter (USA) Colorado Select p/b Brac-excel Sports
17. Sergio Nicolas Granados Carvajal (Col) Team Colombia
18. Noah Simms (Can) Team Ontario
19. Liam Cappel (Nzl) Team New Zealand
20. Warut Paekrathok (Tha) Team Thailand

Final GC
1. Riley Sheehan (USA) Team USA 13:07:36
2. Fernando Islas Lopez (Mex) Team Mexico  0:28
3. Richard Holec (Cze) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized 0:32
4. Sam Titter-Dower (Nzl) Team New Zealand 1:00
5. Matteo Jorgenson (USA) Team USA 1:07
6. Ben Hamilton (Nzl) Team New Zealand 1:10
7. Kurt Penno (Can) Team Canada
8. Sean Quinn (USA) Team USA 1:14
9. Kendrick Boots (USA) Team USA 1:16
10. Robin Plamondon (Can) Team Quebec 1:17
11. Carson Miles (Can) Equipe Cycliste Gatineau 1:28
12. Graydon Staples (Can) Team Canada
13. Denzel Stephenson (USA) Colorado Select p/b Brac-excel Sports 1:31
14. Sean Mcelroy (USA) Team USA 1:32
15. Ben Katerberg (Can) Cycling BC 1:36
16. Charles-Etienne Chretien (Can) Team Canada
17. Nicholas Diniz (Can) Team Ontario
18. Oscar Elworthy (Nzl) Team New Zealand 1:37
19. Noah Simms (Can) Team Ontario
20. Colby Lange (USA) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized 1:38

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.