Featured Stories

Penno Keeps Leader’s Jersey at Tour de l’Abitibi after Stage 2 – Simms 6th

by pedalmag.com

July 19, 2017 (Amos, QC) – Noah Simms (Can) Team Ontario led the Canadians on Stage 2 from Val-d’Or to Amos, 111.3 km, finishing 6th as Mexico’s Emiliano Mirafuentes Resendez (Team Mexico) took the win over Richard Holec (Cze) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized in second with Riley Sheehan (USA) Team USA in third. Kurt Penno (Can) Team Canada continues to lead overall – Tour de l’Abitibi report below.

Noah Simms (Team Ontario/Toronto Hustle)  ©  Pasquale Stalteri

Tour de l’Abitibi Stage 2 – Penno Keeps The Leader’s Jersey
release by the Tour de l’Abitibi

Despite a few showers in the afternoon, it was under the sun that the runners of the 49th edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi took the road again. The second part of the week, presented by Hydro-Québec, travelled the cyclists from Val-d’Or to Amos, going through Barraute, for a distance of 111.3 km.

Kurt Penno, race leader  ©  Vincent Drouin-VeloGazette

Penno keeps the brown jersey
During the first part of the race, Penno prevail over the peloton despite an attack from Sheehan during the first bonus sprint. Even though he was left behind from the peloton due to two technical problems, the young Canadian ensure his place at the finish line allowing himself to keep his brown jersey. Riley Sheehan, is the runner for the United States’ team, has succeeded in keeping his blue Sureté du Québec jersey by winning the bronze medal. The American runner stole Penno’s orange Hydro-Québec jersey by coming second during the first sprint. It is Ama Nsek that won the polka dots jersey thanks to yesterday’s and today’s performance during the mountain Grand Prix. The other two steps of the podium were won by the Mexican Emiliano Mirafuentes Resendez that got the gold medal and Richard Holec de Lux/ Stradling who got the silver medal.

Emiliano Mirafuentes Resendez wins Stage 2  ©  Vincent Drouin-VeloGazette
Rewarded sprints
One more time this year, the participants from the Tour had the chance to win grants by showing off their sprinter’s talents during the mayor’s Sprints. Today, two grants from the mayor of Val-d’Or of $250 each were won by Ama Nsek de Lux/Stradling p/b Specialized and by Lucas Aumenier from the French national’s team. Nevertheless, those aren’t the only two grants to be worthwhile: three bonus sprints allowed the winners to get more marks and improved their position at the general ranking.

Beaudoin is a fighter
Starting at the 48th kilometer, Edouard Beaudoin, from Québec’s team, has escaped. The young runner has maintained his distance by himself until the 65th kilometer, at this moment the chase group reached him. Beaudoin continued to breakaway during 20 kilometers, before his rivals were able to get ahead. All along the breakaway, no reaction came from the peloton according to Léandre Normand, founder of the Tour de l’Abitibi, the distance between the chase group and the peloton did not jeopardize the results. The gap climbed to 55 seconds, but on arriving in town the peloton became compact again.

Steps 3 and 4 tomorrow
A big day is been awaited for the cyclists tomorrow while two stages will be presented. Phase 3, commissioned by the Harricana School Board, will begin at 8:50 am in Amos and will end at approximately 11:40 am at the same location. This individual time trial is definitely a must in the Tour year after year. The start of stage 4 will be launched at 6:15 pm in Malartic with a scheduled finish time at 7:30 pm. Presented by the Canadian Malartic Mine, this event is still very much appreciated by the public.

Results (brief)

1. Emiliano Mirafuentes Resendez (Mex) Team Mexico 2:31:31
2. Richard Holec (Cze) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized
3. Riley Sheehan (USA) Team USA
4. Denzel Stephenson (USA) Colorado Select p/b Brac-excel Sports
5. Lucas Boniface (Fra) Team France
6. Noah Simms (Can) Team Ontario
7. Przemyslaw Kotulski (Pol) Novo Nordisk
8. Sean Quinn (USA) Team USA
9. Olivier Hamel (Can) IAMGOLD
10. Felix Boutin (Can) Team Quebec

GC after Stage 2

1. Kurt Penno (Can) Team Canada 5:02:27
2. Riley Sheehan (USA) Team USA  0:02
3. Nicholas Diniz (Can) Team Ontario 0:06
4. Sam Titter-Dower (Nzl) Team New Zealand 0:12
5. Robin Plamondon (Can) Team Quebec 0:17
6. Guillaume Davidson (Can) Team Canada 0:20
7. Fernando Islas Lopez (Mex) Team Mexico 0:29
8. Emiliano Mirafuentes Resendez (Mex) Team Mexico 0:34
9. Richard Holec (Cze) LUX/Stradling p/b Specialized 0:36
10. Ben Hamilton (Nzl) Team New Zealand 0:41

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.