Featured Stories

Tour de Beauce 30th Anniversary Gala and Hall of Fame Inductions + Interviews w/Fraser and Lukaszewicz

by pedalmag.com
2015 Beauce Hall of Fame inductees (l-r) Jean Néron for Magella Tremblay, Czeslaw Lukaszewicz, Martin Sirois, Gord Fraser  ©  Jerome Gendreau

November 10, 2015 (Ville de Saint-Georges, QC) – The Tour de Beauce celebrated the event’s 30th anniversary on Nov. 7 at the Hôtel Le Georgesville in Saint-Georges and inducted four members into its Hall of Fame including Magella Tremblay, Martin Sirois, Gord Fraser, and Czeslaw Lukaszewicz. The celebrations took place on the evening before the 2015 FQSC annual awards brunch, which was held the next day also in Saint-Georges.

Tribute to Magella Tremblay  ©  Jerome Gendreau

Tremblay, who passed away in 2013, was a prominent Quebec road cyclist in the 1960s and 1970s who worked as a Technical Director and the Race Director for the Tour de Beauce. Sirois, began working with the with TdB in 1988 as a Technical Director, and also served as the Board Secretary for 25 years.  Fraser, touted as Canada’s winningest road cyclist, earned multiple stage wins at the legendary Tour while Lukaszewicz, the only rider to win four Canadian road titles, won Beauce in 1991 as part of his illustrious career.

Gord Fraser (l) with Catherine Leblanc, GPCB Chairman of the Board  ©  Jerome Gendreau

The Tour de Beauce launched its Hall of Fame in 2010 as part of its 25th anniversary. Race founder, Jean Lessard, who ran the event for about 10 years, and Raymond Dutil were among the first inductees, recognized for their roles as builders – Dutil as a race director and sponsor (he’s the owner and founder of Canadian bicycle company Procycle). Gervais Rioux and Yvan Waddell were also inducted in 2010 for their athletic achievements. Rioux, founder of Argon 18, won the Tour in 1988, while Waddell won the year prior.

Inductee Martin Sirois (l) and Raymond Dutil (Procycle), 2010 inductee and longtime Beauce sponsor  ©  Jerome Gendreau
Czeslaw Lukaszewicz (l) and Jean Lessard, Beauce founder and 2010 inductee  ©  Jerome Gendreau

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.