Featured Stories

Tim Hortons MTB Nats 2005 – XC Junior M/W Elite/Espoir Women

June 12, 2005 (Mont Ste-Anne, Que.) – New National Champions were crowned today and others successfully defended their titles. Despite a rainshower overnight, the course remained in good, relatively dry condition, making for fast laps.

In the Elite Women’s race, hometown favourite and 2004 National Champion Marie-Helene Premont (QC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) battled it out with teammate Alison Sydor (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects). Premont
edged Sydor out in the end to defend her title. Kiara Bisaro (BC, Gears Racing) rode into third place.

Jean Ann McKirdy (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) put the hammer down in the Espoir Women’s race, winning the coveted National Champion title and placing 9th overall in the Elite race. Martina Feldmann (BC, Fact Canada) was the second Espoir, while Meghan Kindree (BC, Team Squamish) finished third.

Raphael Gagne (QC, La Vie Sportive) successfully defended his Junior Men’s title, cruising through five laps in 1:24:26.56. Neal Kindree (BC, Team Squamish) was only 26 seconds back and took second place. Alexandre Fortier (QC, Climatisti) grabbed the third podium spot, three minutes back from Gagne.

Emily Batty (ON, Gears Racing) put last year’s bad luck behind her and grabbed the Junior Women’s red and white maple leaf jersey. Marie-Claude Suprenant (QC, Sportif Bromont) had a strong race, finishing second and only 31 seconds behind Batty. Katherine Short (BC, Team BC-On the Edge) finished third.


Elite/Espoir Women – 6 laps, 25.8 km
1. Marie-Helene Premont (QC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 1:54:41.37
2. Alison Sydor (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) at 1:25.32
3. Kiara Bisaro (BC, Gears Racing) 4:31.98
4. Trish Sinclair (BC, Scott USA) 10:55.69
5. Melanie McQuaid (BC, Orbea) 11:27.70
6. Catharine Pendrel (BC, The Bike Barn) 14:09.88
7. Amanda Sin (ON, Bay Cycle-3 Rox Racing) 15:43.44
8. Sandra Walter (BC, AdventureBound.ca) 18:03.21
9. Jean Ann McKirdy* (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 18:24.53
10. Julie Sanders (QC, Xprezo) 20:42.02
11. Martina Feldmann* (BC, Fact Canada) 21:07.73
12. Stephanie Martinek (ON, Arrow Racing) 22:18.29
13. Mical Dyck (AB, Team Alberta-Terrascape Racing) 23:38.80
14. Meghan Kindree* (BC, Team Squamish) 24:34.62
15. Melissa Dekker (BC, Independent) 25:29.47

* denotes Espoir

Junior Expert Men – 5 laps, 21.5 km
1. Raphael Gagne (QC, La Vie Sportive) 1:24:26.56
2. Neal Kindree (BC, Team Squamish) at 0:25.56
3. Alexandre Fortier (QC, Climatisati) 3:05.96
4. Leni Gelinas-Trudel (QC, Le Yeti) 5:20.10
5. Alex Harvey (QC, La Vie Sportive) 6:30.50

Junior/U17 Women – 4 laps, 17.2km
1. Emily Batty (ON, Gears Racing) 1:26:44.44
2. Marie-Claude Suprenant (QC, Sportif Bromont) at 0:31.01
3. Katherine Short (BC, Team BC-On the Edge) 2:28.07
4. Isabelle Jacques (QC, La Vie Sportive) 4:54.88
5. Evelyne Pichette (QC, Durand Sport) 7:06.21

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.