Featured Stories

Tim Hortons 2006 MTB XC Championships — Elite/U23 Women’s Report

July 16, 2006 (Sun Peaks Resort, B.C.) — Quebec’s Marie-Hélène Prémont (QC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) defended her Elite Women’s National Champion jersey on Saturday at the 2006 National Cross Country Mountain Bike Championships at Sun Peaks Resort near Kamloops, B.C., when she completed four laps of the challenging 5.5-kilometre course in 1:33:34.

Prémont’s teammate, Alison Sydor (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects), finished a solid second, trailing the storming Quebecoise by just under three minutes. Kiara Bisaro (BC, Team R.A.C.E.com) grabbed the third podium spot after leading Sydor until mid-race when Sydor made the decisive pass.

Jean Ann McKirdy (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) won the Espoir Women’s race and placed 10th overall in the Elite Women’s field. Catherine Vipond (ON, Team Ontario) had a very strong race, catching up to McKirdy by the third lap. McKirdy managed to ride away from Vipond, and by the end had put a gap of 50 seconds between herself and her chaser. Meghan Kindree (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) finished third.

Altitude was a factor in the race, with the course reaching a maximum altitude of over 1,400 metres. The course included a several challenging climbs and rough, dusty technical descents.

Elite & Espoir Women (4 laps, 22km)

1. Marie-Hélène Prémont (QC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 1:33:34
2. Alison Sydor (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 2:57
3. Kiara Bisaro (BC, Team R.A.C.E.com) 3:38
4. Catharine Pendrel (BC, Norco) 4:52
5. Trish Sinclair (BC, Scott USA-Kenda) 6:14
6. Wendy Simms (BC, Velo Bella-Kona) 7:28
7. Mical Dyck (AB, Team Alberta) 7:49
8. Melanie McQuaid (BC, Orbea) 10:37
9. Amanda Sin (ON, 3 Rox Racing) 11:54
10. Jean Ann McKirdy* (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 13:13
11. Catherine Vipond* (ON, Team Ontario) 14:03
12. Danelle Kabush (AB, Timex) 15:54
13. Meghan Kindree* (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 17:04
14. Sandra Walter (BC, X.O-Felt) 17:32
15. Caroline Villeneuve (QC, Brunet-La Vie Sportive) 18:14
16. Ann Yew (BC) 18:46
17. Julie Sanders (QC, Equipe du Quebec – Xprezo) 19:17
18. Kylie Case* (ON, Team Ontario) 19:22
19. Joanna Harrington (BC) 21:19
20. Christine Misseghers (AB, Mountain Bike City) 21:49
21. Melissa Dekker (BC, Jamis) 22:21
22. Susan Trimble-Haviland (ON, Havys Bike Shop) 22:25
23. Anne-Marie Jobin (QC, Xcluziv) 23:41
24. Leah Guloien (BC, Team Sugoi/Giant) 24:15
25. Elsie Torresan* (QC, Specialized) 24:47
26. Sophie Fortin (QC, La cordée plein air) 26:31
27. Kelly Jones (BC, Sugoi Factory Team) 27:43
28. Christy Love (BC, Sugoi Factory Team) 27:50
29. Mathilde Hupin Debeurme* (QC, Équipe du Québec – Sportif Bromont) 28:09
30. Kate Scallion* (NS, The Cyclery) 30:34
31. Andrea Nighbor (AB, Rundle Mountain Cycling Club) 31:01
32. Pepper Harlton* (AB, DirtGirls) 32:30
33. Heather King (BC, Natural Earth Racing) 33:57
34. K.J. Sadler (BC, Steed Cycles) 34:22
35. Ashleigh Miller (BC, Natural Earth Racing) 35:24
36. Jennifer Schulz (BC) 36:37
37. Isabelle Jacques* (QC, Brunet-La Vie Sportive) 37:01
38. Andrea Bunnin* (SK, Team Saskatchewan) 37:28
DNF Karen Dewolfe (NB)
DNF Martina Feldmann (BC, X.O-Felt)
DNF Caton Nyree (BC, Independant)


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.