Featured Stories

Tim Hortons 2006 MTB XC Championships — Elite/U23 Women Flash

July 15, 2006 (Sun Peaks Resort, B.C.) — The elite/U23 women’s race has started and here’s an update after the first lap.

Lap 1

There are three leaders РMarie-H̩l̬ne Pr̩mont (QC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects), Kiara Bisaro (BC, Team R.A.C.E.) and Alison Sydor (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects). About 10 seconds back is Catharine Pendrel (BC, Norco) in 4th followed closely by Trish Sinclair (Scott USA-Kenda) in 5th.

Melanie McQuaid is in 6th, Mical Dyck is in 7th and Wendy Simms is in 8th.

Lap 2

Prémont has pulled ahead with a lead of about 55 seconds over Bisaro followed by Sydor, Pendrel, Sinclair, McQuaid, Dyck and Simms.

Lap 3

At the start of Lap 3 Prémont has increased her lead to 1:50 and Sydor has attacked Bisaro and is taking over second place. Pendrel, Sinclair, McQuaid, Dyck and Simms are still chasing.

Current U23 champ, Jean Ann McKirdy (BC), is leading the U23 race with Catherine Vipond (ON) in second.

Lap 4
As Lap 4, the final lap begins, Prémont has extended her lead to 2:15 over Sydor who has 10 seconds over Bisaro in 3rd followed by the chase group of Pendrel, Sinclair, McQuaid, Dyck and Simms. McKirdy is still ahead of Vipond in the U23 race.

Unofficial Results

1. Marie-Hélène Prémont (QC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects)
2. Alison Sydor (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects)
3. Kiara Bisaro (BC, Team R.A.C.E.)
4. Catharine Pendrel (BC, Norco)
5. Trish Sinclair (BC, Scott USA-Kenda)
6. Wendy Simms (BC, Vela Bella)
7. Mical Dyck (AB, Terrascape)
8. Melanie McQuaid (BC)
9. Amanda Sinn
10. Jean Ann McKirdy (BC) – U23
11. Catherine Vipond* (ON) – U23

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.