Featured Stories

Team Sunweb Unveils 2017 Team Line Up – Canada’s Kirchmann on Board

release by Team Sunweb

January 05, 2017 (Münster-Osnabrück, Germany) – The 2017 line-ups of the team’s WorldTour men’s and women’s programs were presented to the audience, along with the team’s new Development program.

Leah Kirchmann  ©  Team Sunweb
The new kit made its debut with leading European online tour operator Sunweb, the team’s new and exclusive title partner, dominantly visible alongside the team’s key partners Giant and Renson. The kit’s iconic two stripes representing the team’s deeply embedded “Keep Challenging” approach, also returns to the distinguished white and black kit.

Leah Kirchmann  ©  Wouter Roosenboom-Team Sunweb
Team Sunweb CEO Iwan Spekenbrink (NED) said: “Both the men’s and women’s program have been bolstered with several strong new signings, who we believe fit well within our team’s sporting environment and our specific elite sports approach. They will contribute to our team stepping up yet another level. Sunweb’s commitment to both cycling’s present and future, allows the team to step up the sporting prestige of its men’s and women’s pro ranks and establish its new development program.”

With new arrivals Michael Matthews (AUS) and Wilco Kelderman (NED), the team adds two leaders to its WorldTour men’s roster. Both are still at a young age and are expected to further progress in the coming years. Matthews and Kelderman join Warren Barguil (FRA) and Tom Dumoulin (NED) as leaders for many races in the UCI WorldTour calendar. With Barguil, Dumoulin and Kelderman the team is expected to make their mark in the classifications whilst with Matthews the team will aim for the big classics and punchy sprints.

The arrival of some of the world’s most high-potential talents such as former junior World time trial champion, Lennard Kämna (GER) and Chris Hamilton (AUS) allow the team to continue the development of the next generation of the stars from within its own ranks.

On top of that, the team welcomes five new signings to its women’s roster. This includes former World time trial champion and current European time trial champion, Ellen van Dijk (NED), as well as double Dutch road champion, Lucinda Brand (NED), Canada’s Leah Kirchmann, who ranked second overall in the 2016 UCI Women’s WorldTour Rankings, alongside other promising talents.

The Development program is excited to welcome Felix Gall (AUT) and Clément Betouigt-Suire (FRA), who placed both first and second respectively at the 2015 men’s junior World championships in Richmond, USA.

As part of a long-term agreement with the world’s biggest bicycle brand Giant, all of Team Sunweb’s rosters will be racing on Giant and Liv machines.

Team Sunweb’s 2017 Roster

Men’s Team

Søren Kragh Andersen (DEN)
Nikias Arndt (GER)
Warren Barguil (FRA)
Phil Bauhaus (GER)
Roy Curvers (NED)
Laurens ten Dam (NED)
Bert De Backer (BEL)
Tom Dumoulin (NED)
Johannes Fröhlinger (GER)
Simon Geschke (GER)
Chad Haga (USA)
Chris Hamilton (AUS)
Lennard Hofstede (NED)
Lennard Kämna (GER)
Wilco Kelderman (NED)
Sindre Skjøstad Lunke (NOR)
Michael Matthews (AUS)
Sam Oomen (NED)
Georg Preidler (AUT)
Ramon Sinkeldam (NED)
Tom Stamsnijder (NED)
Mike Teunissen (NED)
Albert Timmer (NED)
Zico Waeytens (BEL)
Max Walscheid (GER)

Women’s Team

Lucinda Brand (NED)
Ellen van Dijk (NED)
Leah Kirchmann (CAN)
Juliette Labous (FRA)
Liane Lippert (GER)
Floortje Mackajj (NED)
Coryn Rivera (USA)
Rozanne Slik (NED)
Julia Soek (NED)
Sabrina Stultiens (NED)
Molly Weaver (GBR)

Development Team

Clément Betouigt-Suire (FRA)
Nilks Eekhoff (NED)
Felix Gall (AUT)
Marc Goos (NED)
Maxime Gressier (FRA)
Max Kanter (GER)
Jarno Mobach (NED)
Joris Nieuwenhuis (NED)
Leon Rohde (GER)
Martin Salmon (GER)
Florian Stork (GER)
Ruben Zepuntke (GER)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.