Featured Stories

Team Canada’s Kurt Penno Wins Challenge Sprint at 49th Edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi

release by the Tour de l’Abitibi

July 18, 2017 (Amos, QC) – Today is the 49th edition of ‘Tour de l’Abitibi’ that started in Amos. There are 24 participant teams that were shown on the scene in order to be presented to the audience that came to assist to this first day of race. The edition Tour 2017 started on a good note: the sunshine was with us all evening and the Challenge Sprint Abitibi has been fulfilled one more time.

Challenge Sprint  ©  Tour cycliste de l’Abitibi
For the sixth time this year, the best sprinters of each team confronted each other in this energetic challenge. The runners gave a superb show during the Challenge Sprint Abitibi, a stage that set the table for the following competition. It is Kurt Penno from team Canada that stole the honors. This is the second time that this young Manitoban has been attending the Tour de l’Abitibi. Shuichiro Shioijma from the National Japanese team has stepped up on the second step of the podium while Adam Attwell from Cycling BC was on the third step.

Tomorrow, moving on to the next step Agnico-Eagle

Tomorrow will be the first step of the Tour de l’Abitibi. The cyclists will leave from the UQAT in Rouyn-Noranda around 16h45 and will be going to Amos toward Rivière-Héva and St-Mathieu. The race will finish with three urban circuits in the streets of Amos, for a sum up of 119.2 km. The finish line will be at the site of the cathedral around 19h30.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.