Featured Stories

Team Canada Unveiled for UCI Supercross BMX World Championships in Belgium

release by Cycling Canada

July 01, 2015 (Ottawa, ON) – Canada will send 11 BMXers to the UCI BMX World Championships this coming July in Belgium, with 2014 silver medallist Tory Nyhaug headlining the crew. At the 2014 Championships, Nyhaug earned the silver medal in the main final while junior women Daina Tuchscherer finished eighth in the BMX Supercross finals and sixth in the time trial.

Canadian Pan-Am Team members Tory Nyhaug and Jimmy Brown, along with James Palmer and Brandon Reid, will race the Elite men category with the hopes of posting good results for Canada and score very important UCI points towards Olympic qualification.

Two-time Canadian Champion Amelia Walsh will be the sole Canadian member in the Elite women category. Four World Championships rookies will be heading to Belgium to race the junior men category, with two-time Boys Challenge World Champion Alex Tougas leading the crew. Deven Kawa, Gaby Malenfant and Christopher White round up the list. Along with Tuchscherer, Drew Mechielsen will be racing in the junior women category.

The 2015 UCI BMX World Championships will take place from July 21 to 25 in Zolder, Belgium. The 2015 Canadian BMX Championships take place Friday and Saturday in Drummondville, QC.

Team Canada – 2015 UCI BMX World Championships

– Tory NYHAUG (Elite Men)
– Jim BROWN (Elite Men)
– James PALMER (Elite Men)
– Brandon REID (Elite Men)
– Amelia WALSH (Elite Women)
– Alex TOUGAS (Junior Men)
– Deven KAWA (Junior Men)
– Gaby MALENFANT (Junior Men)
– Christopher WHITE (Junior Men)
– Drew MECHIELSEN (Junior Women)
– Daina TUCHSCHERER (Junior Women)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.