Featured Stories

T-Mobile 2008 – A Clean Team That Wins

September 28, 2007 – The T-Mobile Team is gearing up for the 2008 season with a clear mission statement. “We want to be a clean team that wins,” says team manager Bob Stapleton.

“To achieve this goal we have put together a team of top young talent, supported by a leadership group of experienced riders,” adds Stapleton. “This strategy worked extremely well for the team in 2007, with our young riders such as Mark Cavendish, Gerald Ciolek and Linus Gerdemann exceeding expectations and delivering many exciting victories for the T-Mobile Team.”

The racing success in 2007 exceeded all expectations for the restructured team. Stapleton: “We are particularly proud of our success in the Major Tours, with team riders wearing the Maglia Rosa in the Giro d’Italia, the Yellow Jersey in the Tour de France, winning two stages in the Vuelta a España, and three stages in the Tour of Germany.

2008 Roster – Young and Talented
The 2008 roster will be a young team with an average age of 26, including 13 riders aged 25 and under. Stapleton: “We have added a host of exciting young talent including Edvald Boasson Hagen, John Devine, Thomas Lovkist and Tony Martin, who, combined with our current young talent give us perhaps the best group of young riders in the sport.”

The strong results in 2007 have shown the success of the Team’s “˜mentoring program’, whereby selected veterans provide the on-the-bike leadership and support that the young talent need to further develop and be successful.

“Our young talent will be supported by the addition of two well known, talented and experienced riders – Bradley Wiggins and George Hincapie,” says Stapleton. “They join a strong group of team leaders and veterans that include Kim Kirchen, Michael Rogers, Roger Hammond, Bernhard Eisel, and Marco Pinotti.”

With 27 riders fixed, the 2008 roster is not yet complete and additional riders may be added in the coming weeks and months. Stapleton: “We look diligently for athletes who share our belief in clean and fair sport; have the athletic quality to ride with the best, and who place the success of the team ahead of their personal goals. We expect to name additional riders prior to the year-end.”

Best Tools and Methods at the T-Mobile Team
T-Mobile Team will continue its commitment to providing all its athletes with the best tools, methods and support available on and off the bike, from nutrition advice to sports psychology and advanced training methods.

Stapleton: “In addition we are working closely with equipment providers and actively assisting in testing and development to ensure that T-Mobile riders are using the most advanced equipment in the industry.”

Going forward the team plan to provide additional information about the new anti-doping program, training plans and equipment, as well as more detailed team information at the team camp in Majorca, Spain on January 2008.

Facts of 2007 of T-Mobile Men’s Team

“¢35 UCI race wins in 2007
“¢Stage win and the yellow jersey in the Tour de France
*Linus Gerdemann won Stage 7 and wore yellow in stage 8
“¢Maglia Rosa in the Giro d’Italia
*Marco Pinotti wore the Maglia Rosa for 4 days (stages 7-10)
ҢTwo stage wins in Vuelta a Espa̱a
*Bert Grabsch won stage 8, Andreas Klier won stage 13
“¢Three stage wins in the Deutschland Tour
*Gerald Ciolek won stages 6, 7 and 9..

T-Mobile Team 2008 Roster (new riders in bold)

– Michael Barry (Canada)
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
– Marcus Burghardt (Germany)
– Mark Cavendish (Great Britain)
– Gerald Ciolek (Germany)
– Scott Davis (Australia)
John Devine (USA)
– Bernhard Eisel (Austria)
– Linus Gerdemann (Germany)
– Bert Grabsch (Germany)
РAndr̩ Greipel (Germany)
– Roger Hammond (Great Britain)
– Adam Hansen (Australia)
– Greg Henderson (New Zealand)
George Hincapie (USA)
– Kim Kirchen (Luxembourg)
– Andreas Klier (Germany)
– Servais Knaven (Netherlands)
Craig Lewis (USA )
РThomas L̦vqvist (Sweden)
– Tony Martin (Germany)

– Marco Pinotti (Italy)
Morris Possoni (Italy)
– Vicente Reynes (Spain)

– Michael Rogers (Australia)
Kanstantsin Siutsou (Belarus)
– Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.