Featured Stories

Symmetrics Atop FloraGLO Series Standings

July 26, 2006 – With only three events remaining in the FloraGLO BC Cup Series Championship, the Symmetrics Cycling Team is once again, at the top of the results sheet.

World Cup Track rider Mandy Poitras (Symmetrics), tied in the Series Championship with out-of-province teammate, Leah Goldstein, enjoys a slim 3 point margin over hard charging Stacey Spencer (Trek-Red Truck Beer), who in turn leads ’05 BC Cup Series Champion, Marni Hambleton (Symmetrics) by a not-insurmountable, 11 points. The race for the last podium step will be tight, as a gaggle of talented females, including Leah Guloein (Sugoi), Maria Lee (Symmetrics) and Lisa Sweeney (CPT Colnago) are within striking distance of the overall Series lead! The Tour de Delta, with its grinding hill, will help shake out the pretenders from the racers!

The Men’s Championship race is currently controlled by ’05 BC Road and current Criterium Champion, Andrew Pinfold with 37 points, with ItalPasta’s Derek McMaster (27pts) and, no stranger to the Series Championship fight, Masi Adobe’s Sean Dawson, trailing in third with 24 points. Reflecting the close racing seen in each BC Cup Series event, just who will fill the podium steps at the end of the Series is still a question mark, as top riders scramble to collect points where possible. As in the Women’s Series, much will hinge on the results of the Tour de Delta.

Be sure to check out the current FloraGLO BC Cup Men’s and Women’s Series Standings.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.