Featured Stories

Swisspower Cup #6 Report, Results and Photos

August 6, 2007 (Bern, Switzerland) – The sixth Swisspower Cup of the international mountain bike series drew world-class competitors to the Swiss capital city of Bern. World Cup stars Irina Kalentyeva (Rus) Topeak-Ergon and Sabine Spitz (Ger) Ghost International Racing were the heavy
hitters in the women’s competition, while the men’s race saw a stacked field, including World Cup leader Julien Absalon (Fra) Orbea. Jose Antonio Hermida (Spa) Multivan-Merida, Christoph Sauser (Sui) Specialized and Roel Paulissen (Bel) Cannondale-Vredestein were also on the start line.

It was not Absalon who took the win, however, but fellow Frenchman and teammate Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Orbea. Absalon led for the first six of the seven laps and on the seventh lap was riding to what looked like another victory, when he suddenly blew. Peraud and Switzerland’s Ralph Näf (Sui) Multivan-Merida caught Absalon to take first and second spots. Absalon managed to hang on to third, but was nearly caught by Paulissen, who finished fourth.

In the women’s race, Kalentyeva led from start to finish, leaving a minute between herself and second place, Spitz, at the finish. Austria’s Elisabeth Osl (Aut) Tonis Pro Cycling Team Kirchberg rode into third spot after six laps on a challenging 5km course that left no room for recovery. Canada’s Sandra Walter (Can) X.O-Felt Women’s MTB Team finished 14th.

Women (1 start loop + 6 laps, 30km)

1. Irina Kalentyeva (Rus) Topeak-Ergon 1:53.35
2. Sabine Spitz (Ger) Ghost International Racing 1:54.30
3. Elisabeth Osl (Aut) Tonis Pro Cycling Team Kirchberg 1:54.46
4. Rosara Joseph (NZl) 1:57.03
5. Lene Byberg (Nor) Specialized 1:58.39
6. Nathalie Schneitter (Sui) X.O-Felt Women’s MTB Team 1:59.57
7. Nina Göhl (Ger) Multivan-Merida 2:00.22
8. Sarah Koba (Sui) Koba Bike Team 2:00.58
9. Janka Stevkova (Svk) CK MTB Dohany 2:01.58
10. Katrin Leumann (Sui) Goldwurst-power.ch 2:02.23

14. Sandra Walter (Can) X.O-Felt Women’s MTB Team 2:05.13

Men (3 start loops + 7 laps, 36km)

1. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Orbea 1:55:02
2. Ralph Näf (Sui) Multivan-Merida 1:55:29
3. Julien Absalon (Fra) Orbea 1:55:39
4. Roel Paulissen (Bel) Cannondale-Vredestein 1:55:58
5. Florian Vogel (Sui) Swisspower 1:56:12
6. Kashi Leuchs (NZl) Cannondale-Vredestein 1:56:52
7. Wolfram Kurschat (Ger) Topeak Ergon 1:57:00
8. Manuel Fumic (Ger) fumic.brothers.international 1:57:38
9. Lado Fumic (Ger) fumic.brothers.international 1:58:10
10. Nino Schurter (Sui) Swisspower 1:58:40

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.