Featured Stories

Skoda-Tour de Luxembourg Stage 2 Report, Results

report by SpiderTech p/b C10

June 01, 2012 (Luxembourg) – André Griepel of Team Lotto-Belisol was the winner for the second day running as Stage 2 of the Skoda Tour de Luxembourg ended in another bunch sprint.

Today, the 126-rider peloton covered 183.9 km between Shifflange and Leudelange. Anticipating to be another sprint finish, the team’s objective was to set up Guillaume Boivin for the finale. The tricky last kilometre was very technical, and it was foreseen that the finish could be disrupted as a result of the technical and small windy roads.

“Bike racing is unpredictable, and great execution doesn’t always end with the perfect results,” said Directeur sportif Kevin Field. “If it did, the sport would be boring. Boivin just got pinched out today in the messy final.”

“The internal communications and teamwork among Team SpiderTech improved significantly today, and bodes well in anticipation of the Tour de Suisse,” continued Field.

Today, Ryan Anderson’s role was to be the pilot, protecting Boivin in the last few kilometres and put him in good position for the final moments.

“Great job today by the boys. Swiss [Raymond Kunzli’s nickname], Caleb [Fairly] and Lucas [Euser] were right up there in the mix setting tempo with Sky in the final. With four kilometres to go it was just the super-teams up there – mostly Sky and Lotto,” said Ryan Anderson. “I think Guillaume and I rode the final well, it was just tricky up there and we were caught off guard by the intensity of [Andreas] Kloden’s (Radioshack) attack. We lost position and couldn’t get it back on the narrow roads during the final 600-700 meters.”

At the line Greipel edged out Ben Swift of Team Sky Procycling and his Lotto-Belisol teammate Jurgen Roelandts.

Brian Vandborg was the top SpiderTech rider to cross the line inside the peloton. With the general classification remaining unchanged, Will Routley is the Top SpiderTech rider, sitting in 32nd position.

Tomorrow, the climbers will get their chance with four Category 1 climbs in the last 32 km as the riders complete three laps of the finishing circuit, which includes the Cat 1 Col de l’Europe. The General classification will most likely change, and climber Will Routley could significantly improve his standing.

Results (brief)

1. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Belisol Team    4:29:20
2. Ben Swift (Gbr) Sky Procycling
3. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Team
4. Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil – DCM Pro Cycling Team
5. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) Accent Jobs – Willems Verandas

34. David Veilleux (Can) Team Europcar
77. Michael Barry (Can) Sky Procycling
95. Guilaume Boivin (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10
100. Will Routley (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10
105. Ryan Anderson (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10

GC after Stage 2

1. Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur-Sojasun    9:26:59
2. Grégory Rast (Sui) Radioshack-Nissan   0:03
3. Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
4. Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky Procycling    0:05
5. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Radioshack-Nissan    0:07

32. Will Routley (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10    0:14

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.