Featured Stories

Sea Otter Classic 2017 MTB XC Pro Women’s Results – Smith 4th

by pedalmag.com

Smith 0R0A0498.3April 22, 2017 (Monterey, CA) – Haley Smith (Norco Factory Team XC) led the Canadian women finishing 4th the Pro Women’s 6-lap xc race won by Kate Courtney (USA) Specialized Racing at the Sea Otter Classic on Saturday. Erin Huck (USA) Cannondale-3Rox Racing claimed second while yesterday’s winner and reigning Olympic champ, Jenny Rissveds (Swe) Scott-Sram Racing Team, was third. Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing XC was 5th and Catharine Pendrel (Can) Clif Pro Team placed 7th.

“The XC race went really well for me. I knew going in that positioning would be a key component, and I was able to hold onto my spot in the chase group of four chasing the three leaders throughout the entire race. Heading into the last lap, I attacked and got a small gap but was caught by Emily [Batty] and Katerina [Nash] before the last 5 minutes of racing. It was a cat-and-mouse game after that, but I was able to come out on top in the sprint to take 4th. It was a great experience to race with such strong women, and something I’m looking forward to more of in the future,” Smith told Pedal post race.

Results (brief)

1. Kate Courtney (USA) Specialized Racing 1:14:06
2. Erin Huck (USA) Cannondale-3Rox Racing 0:32
3. Jenny Rissveds (Swe) Scott-Sram Racing Team 0:51
4. Haley Smith (Can) Norco Factory Team XC 1:31
5. Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing XC
6. Katerina Nash (USA) Clif Pro Team
7. Catharine Pendrel (Can) Clif Pro Team 2:17
8. Lea Davison (USA) Clif Pro Team 3:46
9. Sofia Gomez Villafane (USA) Assos/Pivot Cycles
10. Alexis Skarda (USA) Stan’s No Tubes / Kenda

13. Sandra Walter (Can) Hir Cycling Canada 4:19
16. Maghalie Rochette (Can) Clif Pro Team 6:46
21. Kirsten Sweetland (Can) 8:12
22. Rebecca Beaumont (Can) Marin X Peppermint 8:22
29. Frédérique Trudel (Can) Pivot Cycle OTE  11:03
DNF Chloe Cross (Can) Team Whistler

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.