Featured Stories

Sea Otter 2006 — Super XC — Pro Men’s MTB — Stage #1

April 6, 2006 (Monterey, CA) — The men’s Super XC started off blazing fast under the California sun, with Frenchman Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA, Orbea) managing to keep his competitors at bay through the race’s 60 minutes plus one lap. Riders were aggressive, with many changes happening at the front. It was last weekend’s World Cup victor, Bart Brentjens (NED, Giant), however, and Aussie Chris Jongewaard (AUS), who took the last available podium spots.

Max Plaxton (CAN, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) delivered the best Canadian with a 13th-place finish. Several other Canucks were in the fray, with Kris Sneddon (CAN, Kona-Les Gets), Geoff Kabush (CAN, Maxxis), Ricky Federau (CAN, Team R.A.C.E.), Matt Martindill (CAN, Independent), and Neal Kindree (CAN, Kona-Team Squamish) all in the top 30.

The format of the men’s race was the same as that of the women’s, with a half-dirt, half-road circuit starting and finishing on Laguna Seca raceway. Riders motored up the first pavement climb to the top of the corkscrew, and then exited back into the infield near the dual slalom and short track courses. After some dirt descents, climbs, and doubletrack, racers re-entered Laguna Seca Raceway for a long paved finishing stretch. Time bonuses were awarded to the top three finishers.

Results (60 minutes + 1 lap)
1. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA, Orbea)
2. Bart Brentjens (NED, Giant)
3. Chris Jongewaard (AUS, Australian National Team)
4. Ralph Naef (SUI, Multivan-Merida)
5. Liam Killeen (GBR, Specialized)
6. Todd Wells (USA, G.T.)
7. Jose Antonio Hermida (ESP, Multivan-Merida)
8. Sid Taberlay (AUS, Dolphin Bike Team)
9. Karl Platt (GER, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects)
10. Matt Kelly (USA, Subaru-Gary Fisher)

13. Max Plaxton (CAN, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects)
19. Kris Sneddon (CAN, Kona-Les Gets)
21. Geoff Kabush (CAN, Maxxis)
26. Ricky Federau (CAN, Team R.A.C.E.)
27. Matt Martindill (CAN, Independent)
28. Neal Kindree (CAN, Kona-Team Squamish)
36. Troy Misseghers (CAN, Mountain Bike City)
42. Brendan MacIntosh (CAN, Independent)
52. Roddi Lega (CAN, Norco)
62. Craig Richey (CAN, Cove Bikes)
70. Dallas Morris (CAN, Dead Goat Racing)

Full results available at: http://www.seaotterclassic.com/2006/results_list.htm#10

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.