Featured Stories

Sea Otter 2006 — Pro Men’s MTB Short Track — Stage #3

April 9, 2006 (Monterey, CA) — Adam Craig (Giant) reversed his fortune for this year’s Sea Otter Classic by winning the final in the Pro Men’s MTB Short Track event yesterday. Craig had already filed this year’s Sea Otter Classic under “try again next year” since discouraging results had so far kept him off the podium and out of the top-10 results. As racers fell like timber due to the muddy course, Craig, wearing the Short Track US National Champion’s jersey, rode a race marked by speed, strategy and a little stealth.

“I didn’t watch the races before and didn’t pre ride, I just watched it unfold in front of me,” said Craig. “I was basically just watching heads, whenever I’d see a head go into the ground or way down, I’d just not go that way and find somewhere else to go. The lines were changing so much, I mean I rode half a dozen different lines in each section over the course of a dozen laps or whatever we did so it was good.”

At one point Craig managed to forge a gap between himself and second place, Jean Christoph Peraud (Orbea). Peraud succeeded in bridging the gap only until he went over the bars on the last lap and yielded the win to Craig.


1. Adam Craig (Giant)
2. Jean Christoph Peraud (Orbea)
3. Jose Antonio Hermida (Multivan Merida)
4. Thomas Frischknecht (SwissPower)
5. Todd Wells (GT)

Heat 2
1. Adam Craig (USA) Giant
2. Jean Christoph Peraud (Orbea)
3. Jose Antonio Hermida (ESP, Multivan Merida)
4. Thomas Frischknecht (SwissPower)
15. Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis

Heat 1
1. Walker Ferguson (USA) Scott/Spinner
2. Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona/Clarks/LesGets

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.