Featured Stories

Scott O-Cup p/b Platiglas MTB #1 Woodnewton – Report, Results

release by Scott Ontario Cup series presented by Plastiglas

May 05, 2014 (Woodnewton, ON) – In the face of a rough week of rain and cold, almost 500 people descended on Woodnewton for the first race in the Scott Ontario Cup Series presented by Plastiglas.

The sandy terrain at Woodnewton provided perfect soil conditions in spite of cold and rain – a fast, toned down course designed to be fun for the first race of the year.  Saturday’s Learn to ride clinic was a great success, and Horseshoe Resort’s kids’ skills zone added an awesome element to the weekend.

Zandstra at O-cup 12014

In the Elite Women’s field, Mandy Dreyer from Tuf Rack took third place, while La Belle Provence’s own Cindy Montambault of CVM 2VALS took second.  Coming out with her first-ever win at an Ontario Cup race was Uxbridge’s own Haley Smith from the Norco factory team.  Adam Morka of Trek Bikes took third place in an incredibly deep Elite Men’s field, with Leandre Boucher of Cyclone D’Alma nipping at  his heels in second.  National Champion and World Cup rider Derek Zandstra of 3Rox/Scott hammered to the win – and in a classy move donated his winning cheque to the provincials Junior contest.

Other notable hometown Uxbridge results included a win for Tyler (the Icicle) Orschel of the Trek Store in Cadet Expert, a win for Jay Ennis in Sport Men, and a win for Elissa Cummings in the 15-18 female class.  Greg Rogers also of Uxbridge won his first Try-an-O-cup race, while Alana Zabukovec of Tuf Rack and Malcolm Barton took 2nd and 3rd respectively in their respective categories.

The sun peeked its stubborn head later in the day, warming spirits and making for a great day of racing.  Special thanks to Recharge with Milk for their finish line Chocolate Milk, the Township of Uxbridge and all the sponsors, volunteers and Superfly Racing staff for making this event a success!

The Scott Ontario Cup Series presented by Plastiglas resumes May 24/25 at perennial favorite Mansfield Outdoor Center.


Junior Expert (17-18 yrs) Female
1. Paige Foxcroft (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 1:13:17.1
2. Soren Meeuwisse (Trek Canada Mountain Bike Team) 02:29.4
3. Siobhan Kelly (ToWheels/EpicSport/BCC/London) 05:57.9
4. Marie-Pierre Nadon (Two Wheel Racing from Timmins) 08:37.8

Junior Expert (17-18 yrs) Male
1. Marc-André Fortier (from Victoriaville, QC) 1:23:34.4
2. Quinton Disera (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 02:12.7
3. Bryan Meyers (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 03:57.2
4. Liam Mulcahy (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 05:18.3
5. Adam Roberge (C3/Vélo Pays d’en Haut) 06:57.9
6. Trevor O`Donnell (Kallisto-FCV from Barrie) 10:04.3
7. Max Yule (St. Catharines Cycling Club) 14:07.7
8. Ryan Andersen (Apollo Bicycles from Pickering) 14:07.9
9. Owen Flood (Arrow Racing from Haliburton) 15:45.6
10. Jaxon Brennan (Team Spoke O’Motion/Innisfil) 16:33.5
11. Taylor Etzl (St. Catharines Cycling Club) 19:48.4
12. Graham McDougall (Team Hardwood Trek/Kettleby) 23:25.1
13. Brandon Freund (Mountainview Cycling Club-Total Sports) 27:32.8
DNF Jan Kocemba (from Oshawa)
DNS Braedyn Kozman (TUF RACK Racing from Dundas)
DNS Griffin Lambert (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG)

Senior Elite (19+) Female
1. Haley Smith (Norco Factory Team/Uxbridge) 1:33:38.8
2. Cindy Montambault (CVM 2 VALS from Val-David, QC) 02:14.9
3. Mandy Dreyer (TUF RACK Racing from Dundas) 03:59.0
4. Andréane Lanthier Nadeau (Rocky Mountain Bicycles Factory Team) 04:24.1
5. Karlee Gendron (Trek Canada Mountain Bike Team) 04:46.3
6. Rachel Pageau (Cyclone d’Alma : Devinci / Ekoï) 06:01.1
7. Elyse Nieuwold (Holiday Inn (Calgary Airport)/PK Express : Team Spoke O’Motion) 07:54.0
8. Sarah Claudie Dostie Ménard (from Gatineau, QC) 10:14.8
9. Victoria Giangrande (Trek Store C.C./Richmond Hill) 11:18.9
10. Heather Gray (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 11:30.1
11. Katlyn Dundas (Trek Store C.C./St. Catharines) 13:14.6
12. Haley Golding (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 16:29.3
13. Kate Kaikkonen (Pedal Power Racing from London) 18:54.1
DNS Laura Bietola (Specialized Racing Canada)
DNS Mighty mouse Mikaela Kofman (Scott-3 Rox Racing/Toronto)

Senior Elite (19+) Male
1. Derek Zandstra (Scott-3 Rox Racing/Trenton) 1:39:25.6
2. Léandre Bouchard (Cyclone d’Alma : Devinci / Ekoï) 31.8
3. Adam Morka (WFP Coaching / Trek Bikes) 35.4
4. Evan McNeely (Norco Factory Team/Kingston) 58
5. Andrew L`Esperance (Norco Factory Team/Halifax, NS) 02:30.6
6. Peter Disera (Norco Factory Team from Barrie) 02:59.9
7. Peter Glassford (Trek Canada Mountain Bike Team) 03:36.0
8. Kevin Massicotte (Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles) 03:59.6
9. We are the north Marc_Antoine Nadon (Scott-3 Rox Racing/Timmins) 04:02.3
10. Mitchell Bailey (Trek Canada Mountain Bike Team) 05:27.7
11. Emmanuel Boily (Cyclone d’Alma from Alma, QC) 06:05.3
12. Mike Garrigan (from St. Clements) 07:42.9
13. Kelsey Krushel (TUF RACK Racing from Whitevale) 07:53.7
14. Davis Ross (Team Bikeland from Wyevale) 08:00.5
15. Mark Winfield (Team Bikeland from Barrie) 08:34.7
16. Matthew Martindill (from Owen Sound) 08:42.0
17. Jon Slaughter (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 09:11.2
18. Ryan Atkins (TUF RACK Racing from Whitevale) 10:33.2
19. Anthony Barrette (Rebec and Kroes Cycle/Ottawa) 10:33.5
20. Scott Lynch (Two Wheel Racing from Waterloo) 10:34.9
21. Chris Fruetel (Trek Store C.C./Peterborough) 10:51.9
22. Alex Schmidt (Wolfpak Racing/Inception Cyclery) 10:52.0
23. Tim Carleton (La Bicicletta Cycling Club) 12:38.7
24. Jon Kinsie (The Hub Race Team/Kitchener) 13:33.3
25. Dave Reid (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) 13:53.6
26. Jean-Daniel Boily (Cyclone d’Alma from Alma, QC) 13:58.9
27. Jarrod Forrest (Rebec and Kroes Cycle/Calabogie) 14:04.9
28. Matthew Farquharson (TUF RACK Racing from Whitevale) 14:13.2
29. Robin Wallar (RealDeal/Gears p/b Waspcam) 15:13.9
30. Alex Lefebvre (Speedriver.com from Guelph) 16:13.7

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.