Featured Stories

Rio2016 MTB Test Event – Lechner and Schurter Win, Pendrel 6th, Bouchard 13th + PHOTOS – Updated

by pedalmag.com
Women's start at Rio MTB Test Event  ©  Michal Cerveny
October 11, 2015 (Brazil) – Eva Lechner (Italy) and Nino Schurter (Switzerland) have won the Rio2016 MTB Test Event held on Sunday on the 5.4km course at Deodoro Olympic Park near Rio. Maja Wloszczowska (Poland) was second and Jenny Rissveds (Sweden) finished third in the women’s race. Canada’s Catharine Pendrel and Emily Batty were on the start line finishing 6th and 21st respectively.

Nino Schurter  ©  Michal Cerveny

In the men’s race Maxime Marotte (France) took second and Andrea Tiberi (Italy) was third. Canada’s Leandre Bouchard also made the journey placing a strong 13th. Raphael Gagne was unable to make the trip due to a visa delay, while defending Olympic champ, Juroslav Kulhavy (Czech Republic), did not finish. “There was a delay in processing my visa, so I couldn’t make the trip. I hope to be there next year,” Gagne wrote Pedal.

Batty behind Bouchard and Pendrel testing out the Rio MTB course  ©  Michal Cerveny

“There were just over 50 men on the start line and it was super hot there. Probably the warmest conditions I ever raced in,” commented Bouchard by email. “I finished 13th and I’m really happy about my race. My race was excellent both technically and tactically – I had strong legs today.

Emily Batty at the Rio MTB Test event  ©  Michal Cerveny

“It’s one of the best performances of my season and it’s my closest time to the leader at an international Elite race – only 4:21 behind. I’m pretty happy about that.

Bouchard and Pendrel check out the MTB course in Rio.  ©  Michal Cerveny

“This was a good way to give me confidence leading into the winter and it was good to finish the season on a good note. Many big names were there including [Julien] Absalon and [Jaroslav] Kulhavy. It was neat for me to ride right next to [Manuel] Fumic, [Jose] Hermida, [Anton] Cooper etc. The course was a lot of fun…I really liked it,” he concluded.

Men's final winners  ©  Michal Cerveny
MTB Course in Rio  ©  Michal Cerveny
Checking out the course in Rio  ©  Michal Cerveny
Team stalls  ©  Michal Cerveny
Venue in Rio  ©  Michal Cerveny

More test event photos here.

Read more on the test event here.



1. Eva Lechner (Ita) 1:20:13
2. Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) 0:42
3. Jenny Rissveds (Swe) 1:12
4. Linda Indergand (Sui) 1:48
5. Daniela Campuzano (Mex) 2:18
6. Catharine Pendrel (Can) 3:40
7. Lea Davison (USA) 3:55
8. Irina Kalentieva (Rus) 4:59
9. Sabine Spitz (Ger) 5:12
10. Lisa Rabensteiner (Ita) 5:29
11. Raiza Goulao-Henrique (Bra) 6:12
12. Nathalie Schneitter (Sui) 6:24
13. Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut) 6:29
14. Githa Michiels (Bel) 7:10
15. Laura Lorenza Morfin Macouzet (Mex) 7:43
16. Adelheid Morath (Ger) 9:05
17. Tanja Zakelj (Slo) 9:47
18. Annika Langvad (Den) 10:20
19. Chloe Woodruff (USA) 11:29
20. Georgia Gould (USA) 12:01
21. Emily Batty (Can) 12:52
22. REN Chengyuan (Chn) 18:46
23. Alice Barnes (Gbr)
24. Erika Fernanda Gramiscelli (Bra)
DNF Erin Huck (USA)
DNF Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor)
DNS Agustina Maria Apaza (Arg)
DNS Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)
DNS Helen Grobert (Ger)
DNS Rebecca Henderson (Aus)
DNS Sofia Isabel Franco Subtil (Bra)
DNS Alexandra Engen (Swe)


1. Nino Schurter (Sui) 1:20:36
2. Maxime Marotte (Fra) 0:02
3. Andrea Tiberi (Ita) 1:56
4. Julien Absalon (Fra) 2:05
5. Henrique Avancini (Bra) 2:05
6. Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Esp) 2:19
7. Jordan Sarrou (Fra) 2:35
8. Florian Vogel (Sui) 2:49
9. Ondrej Cink (Cze) 3:00
10. Rudi Van Houts (Ned) 3:31
11. Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) 3:39
12. Rubens Donizete Valeriano (Bra) 4:08
13. Leandre Bouchard (Can) 4:21
14. Gregor Raggl (Aut) 4:42
15. Jan Skarnitzl (Cze) 4:48
16. Manuel Fumic (Ger) 4:57
17. Howard Grotts (USA) 5:25
18. Anton Cooper (Nzl) 5:33
19. Jeff Luyten (Bel) 5:43
20. Jan Vastl (Cze) 6:20
21. Matthias Wengelin (Swe) 6:46
22. Christoph Sauser (Sui) 6:54
23. Phillip Pearce (Gbr) 7:03
24. Stephen Ettinger (USA) 7:23
25. Luiz Cocuzzi (Bra) 7:26
26. Andrey Fonseca (Crc) 7:26
27. Moritz Milatz (Ger) 7:45
28. Hing Chan (Hkg) 9:44
29. Catriel Andres Soto (Arg) 10:42
30. Javier Eduardo Puschel (Chi) 11:04
31. Evgenii Pechenin (Rus)
32. Elias Abou Rachid (Lib)
DNF Samuel Gaze (Nzl)
DNF Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita)
DNF Luca Braidot (Ita)
DNF Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Esp)
DNF Karl Markt (Aut)
DNF Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze)
DNF Grant Ferguson (Gbr)
DNF Ricardo Pscheidt (Bra)
DNF Emil Lindgren (Swe)
DNF Jens Schuermans (Bel)
DNF Jose Antonio Hermida Ramos (Esp)
DNF Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Esp)
DNS Daniel McConnell (Aus)
DNSMohd Shafari Abd Malik (Mas)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.