Featured Stories

Recent Videos

Rio 2016 Olympic Women’s Road Race Full Results + Photos

by pedalmag.com
Anna van der Breggen (Ned) wins [P] Cor Vos
August 07, 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, BRA) – Anna Van Der Breggen (Netherlands) claimed the biggest win of her career taking the gold in the women’s 136.9km road race as she out-sprinted Emma Johansson (Sweden) who won the silver and Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy) who took home the bronze. Canada’s Karol-Ann Canuel was the top Canadian in 25th followed by Leah Kirchmann in 38th as Tara Whitten did not finish.

Tara Whitten with Karol Anne Canuel behind [P] Cor Vos
Kirchmann leading a chase group [P]
Kirchmann at the finish [P]

The finished saw a fateful crash on the final descent in a similar fashion as the men’s race on the previous day as Annemiek Van Vleuten (Netherlands) was leading Mara Abbott (United States Of America) by 30seconds but crashed into the curb on a corner and was out.

Vleuten's fateful crash [P]
The two climbers had escaped on the final Vista Chinesa ascent. Abbott raced on to the finish but was caught near the end by the three chasers and ended up fourth with Van Der Breggen the strongest as she captured the gold.

Final podium (l-r) Johansson, Van Der Breggen, Longo Borghini [P] Cor Vos
Anna van der Breggen (Ned) celebrates [P] Cor Vos

1. Anna Van Der Breggen (Netherlands) 3:51:27
2. Emma Johansson (Sweden)
3. Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy)
4. Mara Abbott (United States Of America)   0:04
5. Elizabeth Armitstead (Great Britain)  0:20
6. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Poland)
7. Flavia Oliveira (Brazil)
8. Jolanda Neff (Switzerland)
9. Marianne Vos (Netherlands)  1:14
10. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (South Africa)
11. Megan Guarnier (United States Of America)
12. Evelyn Stevens (United States Of America)  1:16
13. Alena Amialiusik (Belarus)  2:16
14. Tatiana Guderzo (Italy)  2:19
15. Amanda Spratt (Australia)  4:09
16. Olga Zabelinskaya (Russian Federation)  4:25
17. Eri Yonamine (Japan)  4:56
18. Christine Majerus (Luxembourg)  5:07
19. Lisa Brennauer (Germany)
20. Elena Cecchini (Italy)
21. Ellen Van Dijk (Netherlands)
22. Rachel Neylan (Australia)
23. Linda Villumsen (New Zealand)
24. Malgorzta Jasinska (Poland)
25. Karol-Ann Canuel (Canada)
26. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (France)
27. Emilia Fahlin (Sweden)  6:36
28. Arlenis Sierra Canadilla (Cuba)
29. Anisha Vekemans (Belgium)
30. Ahreum Na (Korea)
31. Claudia Lichtenberg (Germany)
32. Polona Batagelj (Slovenia)
33. Vita Heine (Norway)  7:07
34. Daiva Tuslaite (Lithuania)
35. Olena Pavlukhina (Azerbaijan)  7:38
36. Ganna Solovei (Ukraine)  9:35
37. Audrey Cordon (France)  9:37
38. Leah Kirchmann (Canada) 10:02
39. An-Li Kachelhoffer (South Africa)
40. Ana Sanabria (Colombia)
41. Anna Plichta (Poland)
42. Giorgia Bronzini (Italy) 10:06
43. Trixi Worrack (Germany)
44. Romy Kasper (Germany) 10:40
45. Lotte Kopecky (Belgium)
46. Martina Ritter (Austria)
47. Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spain) 11:32
48. Shani Bloch (Israel)
49. Gracie Elvin (Australia) 11:34
50. Jennifer Cesar (Venezuela) 11:51
OTL Clemilda Fernandes Silva (Brazil) 23:12
OTL Antri Christoforou (Cyprus) 24:57
DNF Annemiek Van Vleuten (Netherlands)
DNF Kristin Armstrong (United States Of America)
DNF Katrin Garfoot (Australia)
DNF Tara Whitten (Canada)
DNF Nikki Harris (Great Britain)
DNF Emma Pooley (Great Britain)
DNF Sara Mustonen (Sweden)
DNF Ann-Sophie Duyck (Belgium)
DNF Chantal Hoffmann (Luxembourg)
DNF Lotta Lepisto (Finland)
DNF Carolina Rodriguez Gutierrez (Mexico)
DNF Paola Munoz (Chile)
DNF Jutatip Maneephan (Thailand)
DNF Vera Adrian (Namibia)
DNF Milagro Mena (Costa Rica)
DSQ Ting Ying Huang (Chinese Taipei)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.