Featured Stories

Rabobank’s Theo de Rooij Resigns

August 5, 2007 – Rabobank’s general director, Theo de Rooij, has resigned one week after the Netherlands-based team sacked team member, Michael Rasmussen on July 25 during the Tour de France, according to Reuters. Rasmussen had been leading the Tour at that point.

De Rooij apparently telephoned team manager, Erik Breukink, to announce his decision on Friday, claiming he had no other choice after being disappointed with the team’s performance at the 2007 TdF.

De Rooij had been with Rabobank Cycling Team since 1995 during which time the team posted 1,738 victories.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.