Featured Stories

Quebec’s 2007 Road Championships – RR

August 27, 2007 (St-Georges de Beauce, QC) – Mathieu Toulouse (EVA/Devinci) was the winner of Sunday’s 142.5km road race at Quebec’s 2007 Road Championships with a time of 3:34:25, ahead of David Veilleux (Jittery Joe’s ) by 37 seconds. Joelle Numainville (Team Expresscopy.com) won the senior women’s title over Julie Marceau (Marinoni-Cadence) in second and Joanie Caron (Cascades), with Saturday’s TT winner, Johanne Cyr (Cascades), five seconds back in 4th.

Simon Lambert Lemay (Hot Tubes) won the junior men’s title over William Garneau (Elicycle) while Raphaëlle Chrétien (EVA/Devinci) took the junior women’s road title over Lysanne Fratelli (Elicycle).

Mathieu Toulouse is Double Champion
release by EVA/Devinci / translated by John Symon

Mathieu Toulouse is proving to be an excellent recruit for the EVA/Devinci team in 2007. After winning the individual time trials Saturday in the elite category, 57 seconds ahead of favoured David Veilleux (Jittery Joe’s ), Toulouse triumphed again Sunday winning the 142.5km road race in a time of 3:34:25, some 37 seconds ahead of Veilleux. Bruno Langlois (EVA/Devinci) and Mathieu Roy (EVA/Devinci) placed fifth and seventh respectively.

Raphaelle Chrétien from the EVA/Devinci junior women’s team is the new Quebec champion, finishing the 57km race in 1:39:03. Her team mate, Gabrielle Duchesne, finished eighth, some 3 seconds back. Among the junior men, Stephane Cossette (EVA/Devinci) finished in sixth position with the same time as winner, Simon Lambert Lemay (Hot Tubes) while Guillaume Boivin (EVA/Devinci) finished tenth, some four seconds back.

IN Saturday’s individual time trials, Bruno Langlois (EVA/Devinci) reached the podium with his third place finish among the elite men and Gabrielle Duchesne (EVA/Devinci) did as well among the junior women.

Results (brief)

Senior Men – 142.5kms

1. Mathieu Toulouse (EVA/Devinci) 3:34:25
2. David Veilleux (Jittery Joe’s ) 0:37
3. Jean-Sébastien Perron (Calyon/Litespeed)

Senior Women – 142.5kms

1. Joelle Numainville (Team Expresscopy.com)
2. Julie Marceau (Marinoni-Cadence)
3. Joanie Caron (Cascades)
4. Johanne Cyr (Cascades)

Junior Men

1. Simon Lambert Lemay (Hot Tubes)
2. William Garneau (Elicycle)

Junior Women – 57kms

1. Raphaëlle Chrétien (EVA/Devinci) 1:39:03
2. Lysanne Fratelli (Elicycle)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.